Grey Hair Is God’s Graffiti

8 Apr

So in six weeks time it’s my birthday and I’m stuck for ideas of how to see my early twenties out with a bang. Jo informs me she cried for two weeks before her twenty fifth (come on, I don’t have time to do that!!!) although I did phone my mum on the morning of my twenty second birthday in tears as I thought I had a wrinkle. She laughed and said “I’ve past fifty, how do you think I feel?!” which didn’t help my silent sobbing.

As Little Bean says, I’m nothing if not a drama queen. It transpired the ‘wrinkle’ was an indented line where I had slept funny on the seam of a pillow case (hark at me, I’m the modern day princess and the pea!!) this was, frankly, obvious, as I still get ID’d when purchasing lottery tickets (you’ve gotta be in it to win it!!!), therefore being deemed under sixteen, so a wrinkle emerging for my twenty second was a little absurd.

Didn’t help my mood when I opened the card from my dad that said “what wrinkles??” and showed the dog below….

Cheers guys! So three years on and I actually feel younger than I did then, and am not outwardly worrying about wrinkles and crinkles. I have more important things to do. Like planning a party!

Suggestions have been interesting.

  • Moulin rouge? – It’s not a goer, I don’t really want to be dressed up like a tie dyed turkey, I want to have fun!
  • S+M or M+S – Ben was responsible for this one. Ever helpful. I think the idea was that you either came in a bondage outfit or a cardi from Marks and Spencers. His other offerings were 3 or 30 party “everyone either has to wear three items or thirty. A shoe counts as one item” or emergency services party. I don’t think he should give up his day job and become a party planner somehow!
  • Masks. Whether it be bear noses, mouse ears or full blown masquerade ball face covers, this is my favourite.

In all honesty, I think I will just stick to a drink in the pub 🙂

“The old believe everything; the middle aged suspect everything: the young know everything.” Oscar Wilde

26 Responses to “Grey Hair Is God’s Graffiti”

  1. vixter2010 April 8, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I’ve been thinking about investing in an anti-wrinkle cream because prevention is key I think 🙂 I’m quite worried about the rapid approach to 30 eek! The problem with elaborate party ideas is some people just won’t bother, a pub drink is always a good option and you can sit outside if it stays like this!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 8, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      dont do it. i used to work for clarins and ive seen presentations about how anti wrinkle creams do nothing, and some even make the skin worse as they distress it. just use nivea!

  2. egills April 8, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    What about a 30’s style night? It’s supposed to be all the fashion this year.. with wide legged trousers and twin sets etc etc…
    30? hmm… I think I remember back then.. I’m going to be the meaning of life this year…. ( or 21 twice… )

  3. prenin April 8, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Well hun I’m fifty and feel 25 – when my joints don’t remind me! 🙂

    Enjoy the years hun – you never get them back!!!

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Rue April 8, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Drink at the pub *smacks table*

  5. Jules April 8, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    go to the pub – way better than my 25…! I had family (cos I have no friends otherwise) and my step-nan died on my 25th….

    And just take getting old gracefully, like me….!!!

    xx

    • tinkerbelle86 April 9, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      oh god poor you thats rough x

      • Jules April 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

        yeah…. my 26th will be spent at work at this rate!!!!!!!

        I’d much rather be dead!!

        xx

  6. louisesmithers April 8, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I know how you feel. I’ve been having a quarter life crisis for about the last year or so!
    My 25th is also looming later this year, and I’m not looking forward to it = (

    • tinkerbelle86 April 9, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      we should just call it 21 plus 4. much better!

  7. mairedubhtx April 8, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Have a nice drink in the pub with friends, and it won’t matter how old you are. I’61 and still feel “young.” It’s all about how you feel.

  8. bridgesburning April 8, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I love the dog! Enjoy your age and your youth I still do. And from your site (have not read all yet..but I think you rock!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      thank you so much, read the top posts on the right.. apparently people like them the best 🙂

  9. Deana Birks April 8, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    The dog is adorable!

    I’m 35 and starting to finally enjoy life (as I was abnormally angsty well into my 20s). I have a gray hair or two and it kinda bugs me but I also look at them and think that if we weren’t culturally conditioned to hate them, we might like them. I mean, it looks like a couple of glittery silver hairs. (At least so far).

  10. lovelyshadesofnostalgia April 8, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Cute post, but definitely don’t worry about turning 25! (Or any age for that matter. I turned 30 a few months ago, and don’t feel much different than when I was 23!) You’ll look back and think how silly it was that you wasted time on it. If you feel old, you’re old. If you have fun and enjoy life you’ll always be young. 🙂

  11. melissasmeanderings April 8, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    35 was my worst…I really didn’t care about 25 or 30 too much! I think I was just too happy at 30 that I’d achieved my goal of owning a home just months prior.

    Now I just ignore my gray hair and often forget how old I am…when asked the other day I said 47 corrected to 37…did the math and finally came up with 36!

  12. I'm making 'fetch' happen April 8, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I’m 23 and have been grey since 19. Now, I’ve to die my hair every 4 weeks or people are commenting on my silver flicks. HORRIBLE. Drink and forget the number!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 9, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      i found a gre the other day. doom. grey at the top, pinky red at the bottom. i feel its time to hook out the hair dye again 🙂

  13. Megan April 10, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Ha ha! so funny as i’ve so done that before too… pillow wrinkles in the morning can give a girl a heart attack!!! Knock on wood, I’ve not a grey yet. I was ok with turning 25 for the most part. Past 25 though I spent so much time dreading 30! Once I turned 29, I was a miserable bear up until my 30th.. by then, I was ok with it. Eh, it’s just a number and I keep reminding myself that I’m not going to let a number define me 🙂 Now I’m alomst 33 and still living, breathing and happy to tell about it. Well, mostly happy. you know how it is!

  14. Sandra Bell Kirchman April 10, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Heh, you guys are all pikers. I turned 70 last October and I still don’t have a wrinkle on my face, and I never put any cream or anything on it, but not much make-up either.

    It’s a different story for my throat, chest and hands, though lol

    I’ve always looked older when I wanted it (in my teens) and younger when I needed it (from 40 on up). However, as I approach 3/4 of a century I’m pretty satisfied…and mostly happy.

    Like Prenin, I don’t feel much older than most of you. When all is said and done, though, it’s the age of the mind and spirit that is most important.

  15. 24/7 in France November 1, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    EVERY age is to be celebrated, as a testimony to life! Age really starts with how old you mentally feel and is truly just a number; it’s important not to let stereotypes dictate how you feel about yourself.

  16. TuesdaySue April 16, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I never thought I would mind looking older… It just happened before I was ready!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

