Never Smile At A Crocodile

6 Apr

“Ok, here’s a question for you: You’re on Safari and you’ve been separated from your 4X4 and your guide. You’ve spotted a deadly animal in the corner of your eye and it really want’s to make you it’s breakfast. You’re pretty scared and you’re going to run for your life. There’s a tree 20 metres away so you’re going make a dash for that and try and climb up to safety. Here’s the tricky part…….. I’ll let you choose what’s chasing you, it can either be a Tiger or a Crocodile…… which one would you choose and why?x”

This is the exact email I got a few weeks ago. I wasnt expecting it (previous emails had been “hi, how was your weekend” pleasantries) but frankly, I loved it. Got the mind ticking over as I thought about my response.

I would choose a crocodile, always.

Apparently if you jab a crocodile in the eye it releases it’s grip, and I don’t know anything about tiger defence ( they don’t do talks on them at the Australia zoo!!)

Also I’m kinda cheating because it wouldn’t happen if I picked the croc, because you should never smile at a crocodile, so I wouldn’t. I’d be too busy running. And, if I successfully managed to slay it I could put it on the wall like those creepy hunters; my esteemed opinion is that a crocodile on the wall has more wow factor than a tiger.

Apparently this was a good answer, although I would have got more points if I had said I would have run in a zig zag to confuse it, or used a rubber band to tie its mouth parts together (sorry but I wouldnt be getting that close!!!)

This is by far the best email I have recieved this year.

What would you choose, the croc or the tiger?

Belle xx

30 Responses to “Never Smile At A Crocodile”

  1. Jules April 6, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    the croc, it’s less scary than the tiger….. xx

    • tinkerbelle86 April 9, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      tigers look like they have a better dentist…

      • Jules April 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

        err. should they be seeing my brother…? He’s a dentist!! 😀

  2. vixter2010 April 6, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    You get the feeling the croc would be easier to outrun as it slithers on the floor and a tiger may just leap at you. I don’t think I’d deal well with either tho 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 6, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      i cant cope in stressful situations, id be rubbish!!

  3. 2e0mca April 6, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Croc – it’s an ambush predator so if I can see it, its attack has already failed.

  4. prenin April 6, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Croc every time – they go for targets close to them instinctively because they have a brain more like a dinosaur than a Tiger which can run faster and climb trees!!!

    Crocs are ambush predators that prefer to hunt from under water because they drown their prey, rather than bite pieces off them – and they store the bodies in underwater holes in the bank because they only eat decaying meat by grabbing a mouthful and rolling to tear the piece off.

    And you thought swimming in a river was safe…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 6, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      when i feel hungry decaying meat isnt up there on my midnight feast list!

  5. potatoburger April 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    If it were me, I probably would never have left the car.

    But If I have to choose between the two; I’d choose the tiger and just make sure I’m in Africa. I think It’d be easier to run from an invisible animal (:

    You write well.

  6. mairedubhtx April 6, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I don’t think crocs can climb trees so I would choose the croc. I think they’re a bit slower than tigers, too.

  7. creativeconfessions April 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    The croc, definitely! Tigers run too fast, and I am a crazily slow runner… 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 9, 2011 at 10:12 am #

      actually i think its a myth that crocs cant run fast…

  8. strange ranger (AMY) April 6, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Do you know the theory of the “slowest camper?” It’s not that you have to be fast enough to outrun the bear (or crocodile or tiger). Just that you have to be faster than the slowest camper!

    When I went on safari with my husband (slow) and daughter (fast), we were pretty sure we might be the slowest campers. We stayed close to the Land Rover!

  9. Scorpria April 6, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    I’d choose to RUN for my life 😀
    though, if it is a tiger, i might just stand and gape too…i find them beautiful — while crocs make me go ewwww…so, even if its a handicapped croc that cant move, i’d still run 😀

  10. The Hook April 6, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    The croc, but I’m a coward so the question is moot!

  11. kali011 April 6, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I would choose the Croc, no doubt. Tigers are fast and i am sure they could jump a lot higher then i could climb in that tree. Very interesting question though. I would probably end up croc breakfast, i am not a fast runner 😛

  12. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings April 6, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    The croc. If you manage to hold their mouth closed, they have almost zero muscle power to open it! Either way, um, scary!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 6, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      i heard that too… always keep a rubber band in case of croc emergency

  13. louids April 6, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Croc definitely beacuse of all the reasons above

  14. BDOC April 6, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    I’d pick the tiger, hop on its back and ride it back to my 4×4, then take it with me and befriend it.

    Don’t worry, I’m a badass.

  15. myblogject April 6, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Crocodile… Even though that would still be a pretty horrific decision to make…

  16. Kim April 6, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I’d choose the crocodile as well. With your tricks and the tricks I’ve read in magazines *lol* (why is such information in magazines??) I could survive.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 6, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      exactly…. how to wear your hair, what is in vogue this season, how not to get nommed on by a croc….

  17. Sandi Ormsby April 6, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Well, If I’m in water, the tiger. He’s probably not going to come swimming after me.

    If I’m on land, the croc

    If I came across the tiger on land, I wouldn’t run, but freeze and not move…oh, wait that’s for a bear. Oh, you’re supposed to make youself BIGGER, putting your hands in the air and screaming at it…that’s supposed to scare mountain lions off. Don’t run, because instinct will take over and they will hunt.

    Either way, I’d end up eaten. 😦 Damn!
    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • tinkerbelle86 April 6, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      me too, but i reckon id be quite filling so it wouldnt be wasted 🙂

  18. Janette Monea Ayub April 7, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    i’m going to have go with the croc. i would try for the tiger and use my “i have a smaller version of you at home” and love for cat senses to maybe befriend the beast but I figure once i’m up the tree it would eat me…and i’m not a fan of something eating me.
    The croc, I’d run like hell and wouldn’t even smile, I’m not sure why thats even a choice girl! :]

  19. viviene April 7, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    Huh!?! I don’t know! None of the above hehehehe

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  20. Yasky April 8, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Surprisingly, I lean towards the Tiger option. I mean, one can play around with a crocodile. It’s fearful but one could get away with stepping on its mouth or jabbing the eyeball (as you said – I would not have thought about that). But with a Tiger…with a Tiger, you get to discover things about yourself you never knew before. Will you pass out? Will you outrun a chicken running away from the same Tiger? You may fly – literally – out of fear…. You know, there’s so many possibilities to explore with a tiger. And, if there are fruits atop that tree, I probably want some motivation to get up there sooner than later.

  21. free sms April 16, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Your article ought to be praised as it succeeds in making us trust as it really is. I follow a number of posts but I have never visited such an astounding post earlier. Honestly speaking I cherish following your work as it gives me inspiration.And yes i have tweeted your site tinkerbelle86.wordpress.com .

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

