Can Music Save Your Mortal Soul?

5 Apr

i heard this on the radio on the way home from work last night, and in doing so it lifted my mood from slightly fed up to jigging along to Don McLean. Fabled to be written about the death of Buddy Holly, who died in a plane crash at the age of 23, American Pie commemorates the ‘day the music died.”

Buddy Holly is one of my mums favourites, and his music was the soundtrack to my childhood. My mum used to sing “heartbeat, why do you miss when my baby kisses me” when I was small, and Peggy Sue, and it makes me think of being in the kitchen with her while she sang away.

So American Pie transformed my mood last night, so entwined was I with Don McLean that I didn’t notice I was being laughed at at the lights by some boys in a car. Oh do one, I love it!

I believe music can indeed save your mortal soul. When I can’t cope with the stress of work I put Carmina Burana on my head phones and go to my special place, and if I have had a particularly sleepless night I love a bit of McFly in the car to start the day, or some Pendulum if its been terrible.

Music, like scents and aromas, can fling you back into the depths of your memory and ignite memories that you thought were extinguished. Remember that night you went clubbing when you were eighteen? Or that song that was on constant repeat on your first holiday with friends?

My saddest song is beautiful by James Blunt. It was played at my friends funeral; killed in her teens by a hit and run driver, the song throws me back in time to that rainy August day when we said goodbye. (Lest We Forget)

What songs do you love? Which tunes evoke your strongest memories?

9 Responses to “Can Music Save Your Mortal Soul?”

  1. Jules April 5, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    err… you know I love my Kylie, she’s been there with me through thick & thin……

  2. The Good Greatsby April 5, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    It’s impossible not to feel better after listening to this song. I always have to sing along.

  3. vixter2010 April 5, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Music is so powerful, i’m pretty obsessed by it, I have literally hundreds of CDs and downloads and it def helps my mood. The post about your friend is beautiful and so tragic, I’m sure you’ll never forget her.

  4. Jessica April 5, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    First, thanks for visiting my poem recently!
    Nice post here. Yeah, music can really sum up moments and bring back memories. Alien Ant Farm’s ‘Movies’ always takes me back to being 14 and a pain in the ass for my parents!
    My grandad introduced me to The Beatles ‘You’re gonna lose that girl’ – it’s so beautiful.
    Fun visiting here, hope to be back!

  5. cutepinklol April 5, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    came here from jessica’s page.
    luv music, anything by Neo makes me quiver!!

  6. Sandi Ormsby April 5, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Ha, I knew Vixter would say that!

    Everyone stops to sing this song. I’ve never come across someone that doesn’t know it.

    Love Buddy Holly! and all “bubble gum rock” it’s such a happy type of music.

    having several different adults in my life brought all genre of music:
    my mom: classic rock (Beatles, Doors, Jeffereson Airplane, Chicago, Foreigner, etc.) and Motown (Supremes, Smokey Robinson)

    my stepdad: rock/country (ZZ top, Bob Seager, and upbeat country)

    my dad: ELVIS, bubble gum rock & old country like Haggard and Loretta Lynn, Tammy Wynette

    my stepmom: Neil Diamond

    So, I had so many influences in my life and like just about anything! Depending on my mood.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  7. subha April 5, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    love this post – music is definitely MANY things – and a savior is one of them. you are completely right about music throwing you back into memories and moods – this song, american pie, ALWAYS Makes me sad, nostalgic and pretty much in tears. funny thing is, i’m not sure why. i always have these wierd feeling like i’m remembering something really sad, but I don’t know what. there are several songs, this being one of them, that make me feel like that. i think in part they make me nostalgic for my childhood when we lives as a family together, and my sister (now not so healthy) was healthy and a vibrant part of our family. GREAT. i’m crying again. well thats enough for now. thanks for the post! going to have to listen to it one more time. i wish I knew what he is really singing about…

  8. missymiller April 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Oh Goodness, I can’t get started about music.
    Music is the wallpaper of life. I love that saying, though it hardly seems adequate. Sometimes music is so much more than that.

  9. Megan April 6, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Oh girl, you know I believe whole-heartedly in the power of music. I kid you not when I say that music helps me breathe each and every day. It centers me, bringing me back to reality; it cheers me and calms. It pumps me up and gets me ready for a night out. Happy, sad and everything in between, music is my saving grace. ❤

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

