Americans vs. Brits (via littlemisseverything)

5 Apr

After a debate with Captain Obvious about word spelings and Americanisms/ England-isms, I was going to post about the differences in countries – America, Australia and England, that all have the same language and similar lifestyles. But Little Miss Everything wrote a great post, so im going to save a job and just share it with you all. Enjoy!!

Americans vs. Brits Yesterday, I scared my American friends by posting Happy Mother’s Day! Turns out America celebrates this on a different day to us Brits – May vs. March here. I hope I didn’t panic anyone too much 🙂 This got me thinking about the differences in our lives on different sides of the Atlantic or across the pond, here are my thoughts: Language Even though America evolved from Britain, we have different slants on the English language. Namely: We like t … Read More

via littlemisseverything

14 Responses to “Americans vs. Brits (via littlemisseverything)”

  1. vixter2010 April 5, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Thank you lovely 🙂

  2. solskinn88 April 5, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Thank you for your book recommendation – I’ve never heard of it before, but I’ll check it out.

    It’s interesting to read a comparison between UK and US, but I have to say one thing – nothing beats Norwegian chocolate. Mark my words 😉

  3. Scorpria April 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    that was a real good read! thanks for sharing, belle!

  4. bevysthots April 5, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Oh – and how about Canada – their Thanksgiving day is different from ours (America) by a week or two.
    Since we watch so much British tele – we actually have a British slang book – just for shows like “My Family” and “Good Neighbors” etc.
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving your kind thots on my post.
    I appreciate it – You get the 1st comment EVER prize which I don’t know what that is – but give me a minute! 🙂 LOL!
    Hope you have a great day.

  5. Babygirl April 5, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this post… It was definitely a great read.

  6. Jessica April 5, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Loved that post! Thank you for sharing!

    PS: British accents and Dairy milk…heaven to this American 🙂

  7. littlecurio April 5, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I think British Galaxy chocolate is AMAZING, and took so many bars back with me to Australia… it really is some of the best plain milk chocolate I’ve ever had 🙂 I know the phrase ‘captain obvious’ but it sounds like you were having a debate with an actual Captain Obvious… I’m confused! Is it the name of an American spell-check system?

  8. Clare April 6, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Thank you so much for commenting on my blog. I am happy to know yours now!
    xo

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  9. prenin April 6, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    She HAD to talk about food!!! (Drool!!!)

    This diet is ruddy killing me…

    Good post though: Very illuminating!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  10. The Hook April 6, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Great share!

  11. Surrey gal April 8, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    I’ve always been fascinated by language differences between UK and US. I’m interested in accents in general, actually… Thank you for sharing it 🙂

  12. Granddad April 11, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    What we refer to as a layabout is known as a bum over there. Our word bum translates in the States as fanny – enough said. I was once in a hotel bar in San Diego during a visit to the port of a Royal Navy Type 22 Frigate. One of her crew, a young Petty Officer came int the bar for a drink. When asked what ship he was from, he replied “HMS Beaver” Great hilarity all round – can’t think why.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

