Neuro Enhancing Drugs and Mr Cooper

4 Apr

Limitless. New Bradley Cooper film. I know, I know, all you have to say to me is “Belle, Bradley Cooper is in it!” and I’m there buying popcorn before you’ve even finished your sentence. but the idea of this is really interesting.

If you haven’t heard about it, the film is said to focus on a guy who is a bit of a bum; isn’t working, splits up with his girlfriend and doesn’t have a lot going for him, and then he is offered a pill that is said to make your brain limitless. According to scientists, we only use twenty percent of our mind and the pill allows his character to access everything he had ever experienced. It changes his life, and thank god, inspires him to sort out the hair, because although my love for him is limitless (see what I did there!) he still looks like a hobo at the start of the trailer.

I find the concept of this really interesting. the idea of taking a pill and accessing things that we have learnt, seen or heard before to really maximise our full intelligence. I know I learnt a load of physics at school which might come in handy one day, if I could only remember it, and I know my dad would be much more grateful for the maths tutor he paid for while I was at school, if I applied it to life at all!

but according to the BBC, there are such ‘smart’ pills on the market; tablets which give us the power to be super alert and fully functioning, sort of like a super caffeine pill. nicknamed the neuroenhancers, Universities are already calling for the use of these drugs to be monitored and to ensure that they are not used for prolonged periods of time, as the dangers are not known.

we all know that the craze of using drugs to boost ones performance has been going on for decades; athletes get tested for steroids before races to ensure that there is a fair level of aptitude, and on the shelf drugs like ProPlus are popular with students, clubbers and people on late night shifts. even drugs like Ritalin have been used by people who dont need it in recent years to boost their concentration levels and focus their minds.

I think that its another one of those really exciting, yet quite scary moves in pharmaceutical development. if you had the chance, would you take it?

 

24 Responses to “Neuro Enhancing Drugs and Mr Cooper”

  1. vixter2010 April 4, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Film looks pretty cool. I think it’s intertesing how little of our brain function we use and I wish I could tap into mine better. But I don’t think I would take them because I’ve never taken drugs, used to even hate taking painkillers and I’d be the perosn who took one and then died staright away knowing my luck! I was also hopless at maths and science 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      i just need to remember where i left my car keys. i dont ask for much 🙂

  2. mairedubhtx April 4, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I would be scared that I would access all the bad memories which I have supressed and that would be a really awful thing. I would like to remember some of the things I learned in school, though.

  3. publiclyvoidpointducks April 4, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    are those neuroenhancers available in uk? or is it one of those cases when you gotta know the guy who knows the guy who knows the guy?

  4. prenin April 4, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I wouldn’t want to – a candle that burns twice as bright burns half as long…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      good quote!!

      • Janet April 4, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

        No. I would not take it. Every drug has side effects. I wonder if they really don’t know what the side effects are, or if they don’t want to say until they’ve made a nice profit selling a bunch of it.

  5. melissasmeanderings April 4, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Scary stuffs–I say no thank you…I’d like to keep the 20% that is working!

  6. B. in the Know April 4, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Oh wow – sounds like an interesting film, but I do not know that I would want to toy around with that intense of a pill.
    Much love,
    B

  7. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings April 4, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I can’t wait to see this too. I also have a major Bradley Cooper crush 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      i think team cooper is taking over the world!!

  8. Chak April 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10%25_of_brain_myth

    BOOM!
    While we don’t understand the Brain completely. The 2/10/20% concept is complete bull!

    Being a spoil sport is fun!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      alright!!!!!!!!!! but its interesting none the less 🙂

  9. Kelly April 4, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I would be interested…not sure if I would have the guts though! ha!

  10. pinkunderbelly April 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    He is so delicious! I think he takes a pill to enhance his yumminess!

  11. Megan April 4, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I soooo want to see that movie! Not sure that I would take the meds though or not… in my like it would screw up the 20% and leave me brain dead. Gotta keep what I’ve got good and healthy; though it would be nice to not lose my keys or wallet as much 😀

  12. lindsay April 4, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    i wanted to see that movie. The concept is very interesting. To be honest, I’m not sure I’d want the power. Ya know? Sometimes I like how the mind can just ponder.
    🙂

  13. Rue April 4, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    If I had the chance? No. I probably wouldn’t lol. Is that odd?

  14. Redneckprincess April 5, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    I don’t wanna be smarter either…I am happy just the way I am 🙂

  15. bossbalita April 5, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    if you had the chance, would you take it? .. i think nope.. nor i might not know when to stop.. 😀

    http://www.pinoyrap.info

  16. The Hook April 6, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    It’s a great concept for a film and I can’t wait to see what Bradley Cooper does with it.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

