A Change Is Gonna Come…..

3 Apr

I’m having a bit of a life crisis this week. I turn twenty five in a few weeks time and I feel like I have nothing to show for it; nothing I can look back on and say “wow, that was pretty cool.” I mentioned this to my dad the other night and he was fairly unimpressed about my quarter life crisis, especially as he is now over fifty, and to anyone older this must seem so ridiculous. Before the comments of “what? Don’t be so silly! You have your whole life ahead of you!!!” start flying in, I KNOW. I’m not meaning to make out that I’m old, because I’m far from it, I just feel like I don’t want to look back when I’m just about to turn thirty and still be in the same position.

So this is my promise to myself. I am going to stop buying books, clothes and going out for dinner, and start saving money to do what I have always wanted to. A few months tripping around Cambodia, Thailand and South East Asia, a short stop in Brisbane to see Katrina and then round to America. I want to stay with my family in San Diego for a month or so and then take the car and drive around. I want to see Seattle, New Orleans, Chicago and The Big Apple, and I want to come back with a book full of pictures and a head full of memories. And what’s stopping me? Sure, I’m diabetic. I can get round that one. I’m not talking about moving to the moon. Yeah, I have things I need to pay off, but I reckon if I’m careful I can do that in no time at all.

And career wise, I’m back on the “a change is gonna come” ilk. I like my job but it’s not my passion, and I therefore need to work on what I’m good at and bring myself to thirty where I intend to love life and have no regrets.

35 Responses to “A Change Is Gonna Come…..”

  1. Ms. H April 3, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    I completely understand where you are coming from. I had a crisis when I turned 25 also. All through high school and college, I had this vision of what my life would look like. In my head, I would get married at 24, have kids at 27, and be wise and mature and all that. Since I wasn’t dating anyone in my early 20’s, it was hard to plan a wedding! Then one of my good friends from high school got engaged. Her wedding was the day before my 25th birthday. As I was sitting there watching her get married on the last day that I would be 24, I felt like my whole life plan had fallen apart. It all worked out the way it was supposed to (I am happy where I am now), but at the time, I was so depressed that after going through the receiving line at the reception, I turned around and walked out and went home to cry.

    Best of luck in your new outlook – let us know how you like all those destinations!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 3, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      ah i dont think im that bad right now, but it is definately a time of reflection and a bit of a cross roads. glad it worked out right for you

  2. mairedubhtx April 3, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    What a great idea. When I was 25, all I had to show for it was a pregnant belly and a husband who was an alcoholic. Even now at 60, I look back and I’m glad I did things I wanted to do and have something to show for it. Go for it!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 3, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      i think id lose a baby! i cant be trusted …

  3. vixter2010 April 3, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    It’s like yours reading my mind! I’m 28 and so close to 30, I thought I’d be married now and my job isn’t my passion either. Let’s quit it all and do an Ametican road trip 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 3, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      seriously, i so would. in seconds!!! we could be thelma and louise. shotgun brad pitt if we meet him on the way!

    • Megan April 3, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      awww girls… It’s all ok. Although I wouldn’t talk you out of an American road trip by any means Laura and Vicky! Check out one of my earlier posts regarding a similar sentiment. http://wp.me/pXtCS-1g I set goals for myself at around age 22 or 23 that I wanted to have acheived by 28. None of which I’ve accomplished, yet it led me to create a new list; the one I have listed as a page on my blog. Age is just a number gals… don’t let the number define you! 😀 Establishing goals is great, reevaluating what you wanna do in regards to job, personal goals, etc. are important, just don’t let a number get ya down! i heart you girls!!!

  4. maidinengland1989 April 3, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    This is a great idea! I finished university last year and have moved from dead end job to dead end job. Every company I have worked for since I finished education has closed due to the recession. I had so many cool plans of projects and careers I might embark on when I left uni but I’m in too much debt to do any of them. Fed up of worrying about money and want to do a job I enjoy. Start a new job tomorrow…lets hope this one doesn’t go under!
    Good Luck with your new view on life!

  5. Redneckprincess April 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Life is short girl…do what you want to now!!! Good luck with your plans, you can do it!!!

  6. Katie April 3, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    My kind of post, for sure. 🙂 Way to get ON that!

  7. The Hook April 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Good for you!
    But just wait until you turn 41! You think you’re having a crisis now…

  8. prenin April 3, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    As a couch potato and home body who hasn’t had an adventure in years I say GO FOR IT!!! LoL!!!

    Better to regret the things you HAVE done than those you Haven’t!!!

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  9. Rue April 3, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Don’t make me cover you with sunscreen, girl. Baz sunscreen. “Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. The most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives, some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t.” Hot dog! Just go. Literally. Just do it. I’m sure diabetics do crazy stuff all the time. Like travel to Asia. And Asia is so SO worth it. I was lucky to have a travelling family. I’ve lived there. Just pick something really really whacky and don’t think. Just do.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      this made me laugh. i wrote the whole song out in a letter to my sis last week 🙂 great minds think alike and all that.

  10. simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    Fabulous decision! I remember 25 (sigh, feel old typing that) and wish I could go back—definitely travel and change jobs while you can!

  11. EndlessBucketList.com (Bryan) April 4, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    I just celebrated my 28th birthday and freaking out to knock of some of the more time consuming (planning wise) and dangerous bucket list items (sky diving, Kilimanjaro, Machu Picchu, etc…) before I have to start worrying more that my actions will just not impact myself, but my immediate growing family…

  12. barb19 April 4, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    I say go for it Laura – grab each day as it comes and make the most of it! Your trip sounds so exciting, and I’m sure it will pile up many memories for you. If that’s what is really in your heart, just do it! The rest of life will take care of itself.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      its not firm plans yet… its just what i see when i close my eyes. thanks barb!

  13. Sandra Bell Kirchman April 4, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Ah, a magical moment…the crossroads at 25. I was intent on getting married and having babies, lots of them, at that age. After all, that’s what my generation did. And I achieved my goal, but I didn’t like it. My husband was verbally abusive and having kids wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. I had my tubes tied after the second one.

    Don’t get me wrong…my kids are wonderful. It’s me that was screwed up. I’ve had a lot of regrets, but, as my daughter so wisely points out to me, they are a waste of time. I’ve also had a huge amount of adventures and fun.

    So, go for it. It’s wise to save up so you aren’t always in a panic about where your next meal comes from. If I was younger, I’d join you. Ah, the good old days, sleeping in my car at the entrance to the Denver Zoo…couldn’t afford a room…driving on bald tires until I got money to get them replaced…seeing Mount Rushmore and it’s even better than I thought. Talking to a crowd who feels liberatd by what I’m telling them.

    I turned 70 in October and for the first time I freely told people how old I was. I didn’t want people to typecast me as an old woman in a rocking chair. I’m not. I don’t look or feel that old. But I wouldn’t trade my decades for anything. And I did do what I wanted. 🙂

  14. Jules April 4, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    i so know where you’re coming from. I’m 26 in a few weeks (eek!) and I’ve still yet to find myself a fella (oh G…!!) and my business has still(!) got to get off the ground. Yet I’m saving money for my future (send my kids to private school) as well as being able to live more comfortably in the future. Yeah my job IS boring as hell but I dunno whether I could handle a change of career, seeing as I’ve just come out of depression (yes! I’m now down to the minimal dosage!!)

    smile, there IS light at the end of the tunnel…! xx

  15. publiclyvoidpointducks April 4, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    i already see the headlines: Naked and Hungry Non-Reader is Found Tripping in Cambodia.

  16. Emma Billington April 4, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I’ve recently had my 25 crisis which happened on my birthday as Laura well knows. I got too drunk and slipped over in broken glass. An ambulance was called and angry paramedics were faced with a very intoxicated patient and 2 very deep cuts in my leg. The next 4 hours were spent in A&E which wasn’t fun in the slightest. I should be growing old with grace not regressing back to the days when i was 16! I must sort this out now!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      yeah but i love you and thats all that counts. just sayin xx

  17. thoughtsappear April 4, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I totoally get this feeling because I turn 30 soon, and I still haven’t been out of the country!

    I’m saving up, too. Meet you in NYC or New Orleans?

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      totally. id go for the latter, me and vix will meet you there, on route to meg! i love it when a plan comes together 🙂

  18. pegoleg April 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Some of us never lose that urge to fly, to soar. But as we get older, our passion is tempered by experience. We make checklists of what we’ll need before we take-off: parachute, back-up parachute, travel accident insurance, Dramamine…pretty soon we’re so weighted down by precautions we don’t ever get off the ground.

    It’s a good thing to do a life-check-up at any age. Hope you can strike a happy balance between caution and freedom, and fly high!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      peg i have a tattoo of a butterfly on my back for when i want to fly away, and im soon to get a swallow… i will soar!! 🙂

  19. Ems April 4, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    So what are you waiting for? People tend to see life as an endless rehearsal of a show that will never take place..! Life is here..and it’s happening now..and guess what, the world is yours to explore..all you need to do is get ready, set, fly, high..above the fear of your mind..just GO FOR IT! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      oh pipe down you, you can probably say that in ten different languages!! 🙂 xx

  20. This Italian Family April 5, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    What a great goal!! My husband and I have cut back a LOT on spending this last year so we can pay off all our student debt so we’ll have extra income to travel! So excited about it. 🙂

  21. salt130 April 5, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I remember going through a very similar thing… so I think it happens to the best of us! 😉 The amazing thing is that you realized it, acknowledged it, and have now made a plan for it! You are right… no sense in living with regret… so here is to your new venture and to an amazing photo book of your dreams in life!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

