The Scent of Success

2 Apr

There have been several Duchesses of Westminster but there is only one Chanel!
Coco Chanel


When I was young I could smell that my granny was in the room by the scent of her perfume. She wore Red by Giorgio Beverley Hills, and it was a strong scent; peppery and woody, that made me sure she was there. it was a comforting smell, like the smell of fresh laundry or mint.

And according to studies, smell is a powerful tool. New parents of premature babies are often encouraged to surround them with their mother’s jumper or something that will smell of their family, this way when they are taken home the baby knows that it is safe, as it can smell the same scent. Cancer patients are advised to surround themselves with the fragrances of vanilla and mint, as the heady scents calm the brain and allow us to focus, and when we can’t sleep our mothers always advise us to use lavender oil.

So a signature scent is something that is really evocative, not only of senses but of memories. I cannot smell Clarins Moisture Rich Body Lotion without being catapulted back to the days of my weeks induction with the company; they days were spent practicing facials and massage, and the smell to me is synonymous with the fun I had and the thought of what lay ahead of me. Later in my life the smell of Issey Miyake for men will remind me of a holiday in Greece; one of the guys we met there wore too much of it, but it’s such a gorgeous man smell!

Until last week, I was a girl who didn’t have a signature scent (sad times). I have a few perfumes I wear; Coco Mademoiselle, Dior Addict, Ghost Deep Night, but I didn’t have anything that I thought I liked enough to war forever, and something that people would smell and be thrown back in their memory to a time they spent with me.

And then I found it. I bought some lingerie and I was given a load of samples (seriously guys, I don’t need encouragement to run up a bill in the cosmetics department!) and was given a little trial of a perfume. And it’s the one. It’s fresh and fruity, and the smell of it just makes sense to me, so I am safe in the knowledge that I have found the Laura scent!

So from now on, if you are going through the duty free, I will mostly be wearing Chloe.

Do you have a signature scent? Or is there a smell that reminds you of something, or someone?

A woman’s perfume tells more about her than her handwriting.
Christian Dior

16 Responses to “The Scent of Success”

  1. simplyshaka April 2, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    This is so weird that you post this because I was walking to the fax machine the other day at work and a smell hit me. It wasn’t strong and didn’t smell like perfume or cologne but it reminded me of my ex boyfriends apartment back in college….um….eight years ago. It’s funny how you can smell something and it automatically brings you back.

    Chloe smells great, I haven’t tried it on me though so I need to see if it mixes well. I love Angel in the winter and D&G Light Blue in the summer.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      angel is a bit sweet for me but i love light blue. yummy smells!

  2. mairedubhtx April 2, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    My grandmother always used Nocxema on her face; she never used soap. When I smell Nocxema, I always think of her.

  3. prenin April 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I prefer Lavender – it is sooo relaxing! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. vixter2010 April 2, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    We are sooo alike, I posted something similar a while ago annoyed i’d never found my signature scent. Well done for finding yours, I’ll have to go and smell that one now. I got one in Paris I’m trying to wear everday hoping it will be the one 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 2, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      I haven’t read that I’ll have to go look! It’s fun trying though! I am slightly concerned that it’s been giving me migraines though so we’ll see. Sure, I have a head ache, but I smell damn good!

  5. Megan April 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    No signature scent here yet. I’ve hopped around over the years but tired of them rather quickly. Years ago I used to wear Noa by Cacharel and ocassionally Miracle by Lancome. Both were fueled by my working in a department store and befriending the ladies at the cosmetics counter! Oh the money that was spent…BUT the gals always hooked me up with extra samples or gifts. I was in heaven!!! I have trouble finding one because walking through the perfume counters sends me into an instant headache with all the scents mixing together and some being dangerously potent! 😉 I swear I have a “super power” sense of smell… My sniffer is always on over drive and can smell anything and everything, which can be good yet oh so very awful depending on what it is!!!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 5, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      miracle is a beautiful smell. i like hypnose too, but the one that got away said i smelled like refreshers. niiiice!

  6. Nicole April 2, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    I like the smell of petroleum. Is that weird?

    • tinkerbelle86 April 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      the smell of petrol makes me feel light headed. isnt it funny how people differ?

  7. Redneckprincess April 2, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Hehehehe, funny Nicole…not weird unless you were it as perfume 🙂

  8. Redneckprincess April 2, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    akkkk..that was supposed to be *wear….

  9. barb19 April 3, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    It’s weird how a certain smell can spark off a memory!
    Whenever I smell Nivea, I think if my mum as she used it on her face regularly – the only thing she ever put on her face. I tried it, but had an allergic reaction!
    Funny you should say your grandma used to wear Red, because up until 10 years or so, it was my signature scent too! But then I discovered Obsession by CalvinKlein, and I was hooked! Still am.

  10. Sandra Bell Kirchman April 3, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m not really into perfumes and cosmetics…yeah, weird me. However, certain smells can throw me back in time like a quarterback throwing a forward pass.

    One of them is Old Spice. Whenever I smell that, I instantly remember my grandfather. He was a successful businessman, and it brought to mind how wonderfully he dressed and how nice he smelled.

    My mom had a certain scent too, but I never thought to ask her what the perfume was…it was sort of spicy rose something or other. I don’t very often smell it, but when I do — BAM! There’s my mom.

    Cinnamon toast – my grandmother. No, she didn’t wear it, but she often cooked it for me.

    Smoke in the air – my dad. No, he didn’t smoke, but he was a firefighter at one time…and he was also always in charge of our firepit at home or bonfires we had for weenie roasts.

    If I do have a signature scent, I’m sure my dogs will say any kind of food. They look upon me as the Goddess of Food. 😉 Otherwise, I’m with Prenin – I love the smell of lavender and use body scent of lavender after my showers.

  11. The Hook April 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Hmmm, you smell great!

  12. pinkunderbelly April 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Mine is Coco Mademoiselle! Love it so much, but may have to check out your new fave.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

