Passionate about Portugal

30 Mar

The Algarve is a fantastic destination for some European sun, and I particularly like Tavira. My grandparents have had a house there for nearly ten years, but this isn’t why I keep going back. I love the people, the weather and the tiny little fishing villages that pepper the shores.

This is the pretty little church at the top of the hill, where we wandered up on our Saturday stroll!

Above is the old fish market in the village. it has since been replaced with a bigger one a little further out of the centre, and this space now hosts cafes and boutiques.

Me and the girls at the new pedestrianised amphitheatre in the centre.

Manta Rota beach. Sun, sea and sand!!! (and a lot of wind)


View of the pedestrianised part from the steps of the amphitheatre.

Us walking back from the castle.

The castle gardens.

Hope you enjoyed!

L xx

26 Responses to “Passionate about Portugal”

  1. vixter2010 March 30, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Looks lovely, am v jealous! I’ve never been to Portugal, I’m thinking I should 🙂

  2. run4joy59 March 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m so jealous…it’s only 36 degrees here in Indiana this morning…brr!! Absolutely gorgeous pictures!

  3. Reggie March 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Oooh, I am jealous too – that looks like such fun!

  4. deanasobel March 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Beautiful pictures! Portugal has always seemed like a great place to be.

  5. Jules March 30, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    i’m so jealous, I need to get away from the rain!! x

  6. melissasmeanderings March 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    How beautiful…wish I were there instead of in below freezing New Jersey!

  7. The Hook March 30, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Beautiful place. I wish I was there right now.

  8. Redneckprincess March 30, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Amazing!!!

  9. scorpria March 30, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Beautiful pics!!
    Awesome place.

    LOVE, love, love the pretty church pic!!

  10. tuckeredout5 March 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    It looks like a beautiful little spot. Bonus that the grandparents’ house is in such a wonderful place. “Destination” family locations are the best of both worlds!

  11. the domestic fringe March 30, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    My father lives in Portugal. I really do need to get over there! Looks like a wonderful time.
    -FringeGirl

  12. Babygirl March 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    These photos of Portugal look absolutely wonderful.I’ve never been but I would love to go after viewing this post. Very nice.

  13. Kimberly March 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    So beautiful! Definitely inspiring. I makes me want to be an artist and sit on a cobblestone bridge and paint all day.

  14. mysoulforsale March 30, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Portugal, and have always wanted to go there. Is it an inexpensive trip from the UK? Did you manage to travel outside the Algarve region?

    • tinkerbelle86 March 30, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      it cost us arounf £75 for flights and accomodation. we spent about £100 over the four days which included plenty of eating and lots of sangria. bargain!

      • mysoulforsale April 1, 2011 at 4:04 am #

        Absolutely a bargain. Thanks!

  15. prenin March 30, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Looks beautiful hun – I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  16. barb19 March 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Love your photos! I passed through Portugal once – many, many years ago before it became a tourist destination – and was shocked by the poverty. I guess things have changed for the better. I’d love to go there again after seeing your awesome pics!

  17. Katie Gou March 30, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    That looks beautiful! I’ve never been to Portugal, though I was going to go this Easter. We decided to go to Egypt instead. One day I’ll make it there, I have to now, it looks amazing. Hope you had fun!

  18. Megan March 31, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Looks gorgeous! Jealous for sure but glad you had a good trip… er holiday. 😉

  19. Bella March 31, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    Lovely photos! I’ve always wanted to go to Portugal and after seeing these shots, all the more so! Manta Rota beach look simply divine! Gosh I need some sun!

  20. mmg October 26, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Monta Rota beach looks like the place to be! The beach at Qukinta do Lago on the ocean side (obviously, I suppose) of The Ria Formosa is very nice too, in particular when the tide is low.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

