“Hi. My name is Bob. And I approve this message”

27 Mar

“Hi. My name is Bob. And I approve this message”

This is the first bit of Magic by B.O.B and Rivers Cuomo (Weezer fame).

It’s also a bit of a funny way to start a blog, but as my mind does, it took me off on a tangent. Wouldn’t it be great if you could approve what people said? Like if you got really drunk and threw up in your handbag in a taxi (just hypothetically) wouldn’t it just be simply marvellous if you could pop in just at the second your friend was just about to regale the story to the man you were intending to marry (not that he knew it yet) and veto her conversation all together?

This magic power would save a lot of embarrassing things in my past. Like my sister would never have the chance to tell people that I once felt so ill I thought I might wee myself in my sleep and had therefore worked myself up so much I couldn’t actually doze off? Or my granny wouldn’t tell people of the time my sister announced to a group of adults that when she was older her chosen profession was a bugger. (The word her five year old self was looking for was entomologist). It would save the world from the awkward faux pas silence, and I think I would be doing a massive service.

What superhero would you be if you had the change to wear your pants over your leggings and fly the skies, saving the world?

again, thanks to Natalie Dee and the superpoop crew!!

10 Responses to ““Hi. My name is Bob. And I approve this message””

  1. Joanne March 27, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Mmm my parents tell so many bad stories about me and I would so love to have the power to stop them before they start. Is having a photographic memory a superpower? Cause if so, I’d like that one. It’d save me a lot of time studying.

  2. Megan March 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Girl, my choice would so be the very same as yours. People need to learn just when they need to insert their foot in the mouth and STOP having diarrhea of the mouth, leaving well enough alone! Seriously it would save a lot of embarassment… at the same time though people blabbling about what we may not want them to, has made for some funny, funny stories to tell down the road. 😀

  3. prenin March 27, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I think the ‘Super Bully Hunter’ would be a good one!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. I Made You A Mixtape March 27, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    First of all, I love the song in the beginning… and what superhero would I be?? I would be a Time Traveller… not unlike Dr Who…. but I would spend less time fighting aliens of the future and would visit acient Egypt and renaissance Italy/venice to see if they really were as fabulous as you read from history books…

  5. simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    I was just having a conversation about puking in taxi cabs yesterday, freaky!

    Um, I really would like to know what songs people are listening to on their iTunes but that is kinda a lame power so I think mine would be something cool like flying.

  6. Deidre March 28, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    Seriously, it would make it so much easier. My boyfriend is of the school that everything needs to be shared all the time. and I am of the school of thought that perhaps that isn’t a good idea. I’d love to be able to veto.

  7. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 29, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    I’d like the super power of being able to heal by touch…including myself. Think of all the doctor bills it would save, not to mention the prescripton drug tab!

    First, though, I’d probably have to get over my queasiness at the sight of blood 😛

    Cute stories, Tinkerbelle.

  8. Nancy Wood May 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I’m told by many I would be ‘The ENABLER’ able to solve others problems in the wink of an eye!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

