Holiday Time!!

25 Mar

I didn’t think it would come, as it seemed so dreary and cold when we booked the tickets, but today is the day. I’m doing a half day at work this morning and then going home, grabbing my luggage and heading for the airport, air bound to Portugal.

tempo de férias! Its holiday time!!

Im so excited. First of all i need a break. I need to get away from day to day  and drink sangria by the pool with some of my favourite people. Its also the first time in around ten years that I’ve gone away with my cousin Karli; the last time being to Istanbul in August (a hot and sweaty cacaphone of street sellers and market traders) where we both ended up with food poisoning, and i remember being propelled face first into a sweaty mans armpit as the tram stopped suddenly and needing to throw up. Not your ideal rest and recouperate, despite the fun we had!!

So this evening I will sleep in my Portuguese house and be around all my familiar Portuguese surroundings. Ill eat at one of my favourite Portuguese restaraunts and tomorrow ill wake up and (hopefully) the sun will be shining and all will be well. Its the first glimpse at the summer that im hoping we have 🙂

Im mostly looking forward to being able to have bare feet (i hate socks and shoes and my friends mock me for wearing flip flips march to october. It seems sensible to me, after all if it rains you can just wipe them off rather than having soggy socks for the rest of the day), to smell the way my skins smells when i have been in the sun (i dont mean charred flesh, i mean suncream!) and the white wine sagria they serve in the ‘pub’ near our house; its white wine, brandy, pomegranate and a whole heap of other yummy things with tons of ice and basil. Mmmmmmm!

Im lucky to spend it with some of my favourites; Emmy, Jo, Row, Aimee, Kaybear and Karli… lets have some fun!

Ill post some pics when I come home, dont have too much fun without me! (all my posts for this weekend are pre written and cleverly scheduled. Not just a pretty face 🙂 )

Ti amo

x

14 Responses to “Holiday Time!!”

  1. Jules March 25, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    eeeeeeeeek! jealous!!! have fun!! xxxx

  2. barb19 March 25, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Sounds wonderful!
    Have lots of fun and take lots of pics to share when you get back!

  3. theopinioniser March 25, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Sounds fun!! I always wanted to visit Portugal…

  4. vixter2010 March 25, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Yay sounds fun, I am jealous. Have an amazing time, I hope the sun shines for you. Can’t wait to hear all about it 🙂

  5. egills March 25, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Have a wonderful time.. looking forward to seeing any sunny shots 🙂

  6. Elin @andserenitytoo March 25, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Have a lovely holiday!! 🙂

  7. Megan March 25, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Have a wonderful time my dear! Hope the sun’s a shining for you and your toes can hang out!!! flip-flops are my favorite and wear them much the same as you! (With the exception of this week…it’s FREEZING here again in my part of the U.S.) Looking forward to your pre-scheduled posts…Rock on with your bad self girl! Enjoy… 🙂

    • Megan March 26, 2011 at 4:02 am #

      Stop by my blog when you get home… Passed along a Versatile Blogger Award to ya chica! 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your time.

  8. Redneckprincess March 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I miss my flip flops too, took them out and looked longingly at them just the other day!!! Have a marvelous time my friend!! Can’t wait to hear of your adventures 🙂

  9. dyan04 March 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    My fondest activity in a year.. vacation! 🙂 Have fun!

  10. prenin March 25, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Sounds good hun!!! 🙂

    Have a great time and take good care of yourself – no frying in the sun!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  11. Katie March 25, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    So jealous! I’m headed to Spain in a couple of months, and I’m super disappointed we don’t have time to squeeze in Portugal. Some friends who live in Spain just took a road trip through Portugal and it looked incredible. Have a wonderful time!

  12. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 27, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    You’re such a lovely, laughing girl, you can’t help but have fun. I’m looking forward to hearing Tinkerbelle’s Adventures in Wonderland when you come home 🙂

  13. nursemyra March 28, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Pass that sangria, I love pomegranate

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

