Let Him Who Is Without Sin Cast The First Stone

22 Mar

Maybe sometimes I don’t say what you want to hear, what you think I should say, or what is deemed appropriate, but I am just being me and saying what I feel I need to. I’m unapologetic for this; I AM sorry if you take the words I say in a different manner to how I mean them, but I don’t apologise for the words tumbling onto the page. They are mine, and however you choose to feel about them, you can’t block the flow. It takes a bigger person to accept that maybe you don’t agree with someone, but understand their differing opinion, I think.

Which brings me onto a completely different point… religion.

I sit on the fence with this one. I’ve mentioned before a few times that I have had heated discussions on more than one occasion that I don’t totally agree with the big bang theory, because if there was nothing, then what banged?

According to the completely accurate Wikipedia (!): Nothing is a concept that describes the absence of anything at all.

I’ll ask again, what banged? Exactly. That’s my point. This doesn’t make me a religious person, I just am able to say that my mind is open, as there are holes in the theory. Right from the start of the story. The disputed bang. ( I did massively try to wind Adam up on this one, who is a staunch atheist, by saying I reckon God just left the gas on… it was immature of me. but his reaction was priceless).

My mind has got wandering because I have read some really interesting posts from people who are religious, even to a degree; they believe in God. I respect these people, and therefore I take the time to read what they have to say and ponder it considerably. I come from a part of the world where no one is particularly religious, yet we get married, we get christened and we partake in certain rituals “in the eyes of God”. Yet people don’t believe. Which really annoys me.

And then I started to think about Colonel Gaddafi, and then Hitler, and then further back to Henry the Eighth. (Stick with me on this one, people!!)

All three of them have something in common. Well more than one something, but for the sake of anyone that has got thus far and doesn’t want to lose the will to live…. they all existed. They all were, and no one disputes this. Yes, we have evidence, we have photos, or paintings, or news stories, but they all have existed in either the present day, or in history. We don’t argue them. None of us personally SAW Henry the eighth, but we don’t argue that he never existed, do we?

Which brings me seamlessly onto Jesus. If we can believe in Henry the eighth (and I’m not at all trying to belittle the whole idea of religion here for people who have strong faith, so don’t take it that way, it’s simply a thought process) then why can’t we believe in Jesus? Why can’t we believe that there was someone once upon a time who died trying to save us? Whether he was the son of God is for us as individuals to make our mind up on, but why is it so difficult to believe that, on the most base level, someone died trying to save his people?

The jury is still out on this for me, but I’m getting more and more interested in hearing other people’s points of view. My god mother (yes, I have one) is profoundly religious and always sparks conversation, and believe me, I have questions.

So as much as people complain about people who have faith and who try to force it on people who don’t, the same applies for atheists who try to force the belief that those people who believe are being silly. After all, the older I get, the more I’d really like to believe that someone is watching my back. Right?

23 Responses to “Let Him Who Is Without Sin Cast The First Stone”

  1. Alyssa March 22, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    I agree, I do like hearing different points of views. However, I hate the condescending advice I get from very avid Christian friends. It’s so hard to walk that line!

    • Rue March 23, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      I was in church Sunday night and felt that exact thing. I’m a bit of a guesser (and a pick and chooser), I don’t like the idea of blind faith, but sometimes the people trying to answer my questions come across very patronisingly indeed.

  2. Mitch March 22, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Very nice. It is very good that you keep an open mind. And continue to seek out the facts. I could tell you about what I believe and why, but over private. I enjoy everything you write, keep it up.

  3. Adam March 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    You believe in Henry VIII? Lord…

    • tinkerbelle86 March 22, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      Knew that was coming mr predictable!

    • Rue March 23, 2011 at 2:06 am #

      If I could ‘like’ a comment. I’d do it.

  4. sidewaysrun March 22, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    You can open up a whole can of worms here.. My family is religious, the one considered the most “evil” at the moment, very very religious, but to cut a long story short, my opinion was swayed, simply put, the big bang theory is more plausible on every level then a higher entity that created the “universe”.

    I’m not dismissing the possibility of a high intelligence, just the idea of a singular higher power. By your logic, what came before the big bang? well….what came before god?
    The concept of evolution has stronger theories and fact. It all started with gases. There are masses of papers and sources citing evidence of how this was possible. The LHC is conducting experiemnts into how this “big bang” (which was a joke which stuck) occured.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-11711228

    We know our known universe is finite but accelerating away from us, and that it is in the region of 13billion light years give or take (in time) and just recently, we discovered the oldest observable object we have ever seen.
    http://news.discovery.com/space/oldest-galaxy-universe-hubble-110126.html
    This is crazily exciting, it’s only 500million years from when the universe was created, of course, the light has taken all of 13billion years to reach us, but we have seen further then ever with a telescope thats 20years old!
    now miss Tinker, what excites me the most, is THIS: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Webb_Space_Telescope

    When we launch it, oh man oh man, we will see things we never imagined we will see, (when they launched Hubble, they didnt expect much, turns out it was one of humanities greatest creations). I can’t wait to see what happens when this gets launched. Will we close that 500million ear gap? By then will we have seen the Higgs particles? Will be be able to actually seee dark matter? the questions are endless.
    Point is, were close, very close, and we have more answers then people are readily able to admit to themselves.

    Then again, If a god DOES exist, then well, hes not very happy with me, and frankly, neither am I with him, He gives me free thinking then puts alllll these rules down and asks me to worship him? What was that you said about Tyranny?
    My two cents, if people don’t like it, head over to my blog, I talk even more shit.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 22, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

      I think that’s more than two cents dude, that’s about ten dollars worth! 🙂

    • the master March 23, 2011 at 1:01 am #

      Not meaning to nitpick, I just wanted to add that the big bang and evolution are two different subjects. Both are fascinating, though being a prehistory buff, evolution wins out for me.

      As far as religion goes, I was raised in a loosely Christian household and was at one point a Junior Soldier in the Salvation Army. But deep down, I never really believed any of it, I simply went along with it to please my grandfather, who was devout. It took me years after his death to finally be honest with myself and drop the pretense, and I can honestly say I don’t miss it. If anything, I feel my life has been more positive since then.

  5. prenin March 22, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Very wise words hun – the thought of God leaving the Gas on had me chuckling!!!

    I am a Christian, I believe in a creator and that Jesus was a done deal that saves us all IF we believe in him and (this is gonna ruffle some feathers) OR IF WE DON’T.

    Jesus died for ALL MANKIND so that we wouldn’t go to Hell and be damned for all eternity.

    Trouble is that we have a LOT of bad folks doing dreadful things in the name of many things not related to God and a lot doing things because they believe they go to heaven if they kill a nonebeliever.

    Just don’t get me started on the 72 virgins issue!!!

    The world is not one thing or another, it’s MANY things and while I do not agree with none-believers, that is their choice and not mine to make.

    All I can do AS A CHRISTIAN is to be a guiding light in the darkness and by example give those lost souls the chance to follow the path to Godliness and hope.

    If they do not wish to follow, then that is their choice – nobody can make it for them.

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    P.S: Just checking to see if I left the gas on… 🙂

  6. This Italian Family March 22, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    I really appreciate everything you wrote in this post. As I’m sure you’ve gathered from the things I’ve written, I’m a Christian. What breaks my heart is that so many people have such negative ideas of what it means to be a Christian because of the shameful way so many Christians have acted. But I’m also white and white people have acted in some pretty shameful ways as well. All I ask is that no one judge me because of a label I wear until they get to know who I am and what I stand for.

    Sorry, off my soapbox now, haha!

    I love that your godmother sparks conversation about religion. Having an open mind and asking questions of someone you respect is definitely wise. I look forward to reading more about your journey, girl. 🙂

  7. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 22, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I think that keeping an open mind until you find something that turns your crank and makes eminent sense to you is very important. Listening to others for information and for something that might spark you is important too. I found something that works like that for me, and I have to say it saved my life. But then I had to be ready to save my life too.

    I won’t bore you with the details, but I did do something recently that I consider interesting and relevant to this discussion. I read (part of) a book by Dr. Ron Frost entitled Religion Versus Science: Where Both Sides Go Wrong in the Great Evolution Debate. I subsequently wrote a post for my second blog about Dr. Frost, his findings and conclusions at News, Views, and Gurus. I quite liked Dr. Frost and his sense of humor. You might like taking a look.

    I too thoroughly enjoy your blog, Tinkerbelle. I find you have a lot o wisdom and have no hesitation in sharing it generously. It does people good to hear things they don’t like from time to time. Keep up the good work.

  8. Nicole March 23, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    Great post… 🙂 As a Christian, I have to give you one piece of advise. Don’t base your final decision on the religious. Because they’re imperfect, same as everyone else. Base it on a relationship with God… and with Jesus. Read the Bible, because it’s God’s love letter. Christians will let you down. Will say the wrong thing. But He never will. And even though His advise isn’t always the popular choice in this day and age, it’s always advise that offers protection and blessing. God knows best, even if it’s not easy for everyone to accept. He has His reasons for the rules he sets forth. And that’s my two sense… 🙂

    • magicoficecream March 24, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Can the Bible never be morally wrong?
      *It was one of our Theology question on our final exam. I never got to see the answer so I’m just curious.

  9. Rue March 23, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    I love your writing. And your ranting, no matter what it’s about. I’m not going to tell you to read the Bible. It was reading the Bible that put me back up on the fence. Maybe chuck it on your bucket list if you want to give it a shot though (the Qu’ran, too, is an interesting read). To be honest, neither are as hard to read as The Lord of the Rings. 😀

    • tinkerbelle86 March 25, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      captain corellis mandolin is pretty hard going too!!

  10. Sandi Ormsby March 23, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Interesting, I just posted a comment on someone’s blog last night or so, why can’t we believe in both…my idea was God was kicking back (and maybe he had a glass of wine) and all of a sudden there was a loud explosion (Or big bang?) and he watched some planets (and stuff) collide deep in space. Then all of a sudden, the innner artist took over, and he grabbed some of the space particles and created our solar system/ heavens and the earth, and esentially made man from that dust, as well. So, we’re all SPACE DUST, a shining star within all of us…which I think is totally awesome!

    Did I just blaspheme?
    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  11. barb19 March 23, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    The Bible says “seek and you will find”. Keep asking questions and you will find your own answer.
    I love your blog – it’s full of spice and wit and you always have something meaningful to say (like this post today). Sure, it will ruffle some feathers, but we should be able to discuss it like mature adults. We can’t please all the people all of the time as you say, but I’m glad you say what’s on your mind – that’s what I love most about your blog I think.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      thanks, i think i must have missed this comment the first time around but i really appreciate this! what a lovely comment 🙂

  12. Erika March 23, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I think part of the problem is that people (in general) want to be right, and want that enough to step in and interfere with the journey to truth that others are taking.

    Don’t get me wrong – I’m a Christian, and one that has backslidden and then returned – there is a place for guidance, and there is a place for telling the truth if it’s the right time and right presentation. But there is no excuse for jamming my beliefs down your throat, and I think that’s a standard for atheists, agnostics, and Christians alike.

  13. magicoficecream March 24, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    One thing I learned about our class was the Science tries to explain HOW the universe was formed while Religion explains WHY there is a universe. Also, the Bible doesn’t claim accuracy on historical accounts but rather on religious meaning.

    As for me, I never really cared if we shared the same belief. I just believe that if you do good then God is happy. Although one of his teaching is to recognize him as God and no other god’s before him.

    PS: Although I am Christian, I hate some of our kind. The kind where they shove their beliefs on people’s throat. >_> Like Marian on Easy A

  14. Ruth March 25, 2011 at 5:20 am #

    Very good post! And thanks for dropping by!
    I am a Christian and I like the way you respect Christians and don’t judge them. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. … Cheerful aka “The God Debate and the internets” | Online being… - March 23, 2011

    […] Tinkerbell86 has written a really thoughtful perspective about religious fence sitting, which I love and appreciate. And, of course, Josiah Black from Devastating the Obvious, who find the possiblity of descending from apes to be offensive. Two totally valid blogs with two totally valuable view points. Please check them out if you’re into that sort of discussion. […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

