iPhone VS Blackberry – The Eternal Debate

21 Mar



I used to love my blackberry. It had all the keys and did simple things, and I could talk to all my friends for free on the messenger. Perfect.

But then I decided to get an iphone. I don’t know why, I hate iphones. It was just one of those whimsical decisions, possibly due to the fact that often when having dinner with my father and sister they start talking about ‘angry birds’ and ‘winky pigs’ and ‘have you got this app? And my eyes glaze over as I am fazed out of the conversation, the same look I get when my mum starts talking about cleaning products.

So I got one. Madness ensued. What the hell is wrong with the auto correct? You have to be totally on your game, otherwise you send all sorts of rubbish, for example when I text a friend to say I couldn’t do something as I had used all my holiday. My fat fingers failed to put the space between the words ‘all’ and ‘my’ and it changed it to ‘Sally’. He replied to ask me to read the message, and then to send it so it wasn’t so cryptic.

The worst one was when I sent a text to Chop, asking her about her night with some choice words I wouldn’t generally use. My beloved iphone scrambled my phone book, and it was sent to a member of my family. Interesting explanations ensued.

Apparently I’m not the only one suffering in this way. There are often emails sent round with funny autocorrect fails, I just don’t want to feature on one of them!!

As you may know, I’m notoriously bad with technology. My sister added the gay in San Francisco app (just what every straight English girl needs!) and I couldn’t for the life of me work out how to remove it, yet I managed to a accidentally remove the camera, an apparently integral piece of the phone that you “just cannot delete”, according to Geordie’s boyfriend. All I can say is thank goodness for Dave, who managed to reinstall it, all the while shaking his head and marvelling at how I do it. What can I say? We all have a talent!

Come back walkie talkie house phone, all is forgiven! (now nana needs to go find her dentures 🙂 )

12 Responses to “iPhone VS Blackberry – The Eternal Debate”

  1. Rue March 21, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Talking Tom. I don’t have an iPhone myself (LG KY500, Don’t hate), but Talking Tom.

  2. Wazeau March 21, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    autocorrect is awesome! (NSFW due to autocorrect language)

    http://damnyouautocorrect.com/

  3. melissasmeanderings March 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    I’m lucky I can text with my phone…this old lady doesn’t need that much technology!! lol

  4. dnfisher March 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I still have no idea how you’ve managed to repeatedly delete your camera. Glad to be of service however 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      fear not! i found it the second time. id moved it to another screen on my iphone, that housed nothing else (school boy!) so you dont need to fix it again.. although i did just spend fifteen minutes trying to find the status bar in word (it got lost!!!) see you wednesday for noms.

  5. prenin March 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I have a ten year old mobile brick.

    It phones, it sends (brief) texts and it’s all I need – the PC does the rest!!! 🙂

    God Bless!!!

    Prenin.

  6. Sandi Ormsby March 21, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Hey,
    I came across the BEST site. Your post reminded me that I had this on my list of things to blog about…

    So I quickly did it up, and I think you’ll great appreciate it. In fact, if you haven’t seen this already, everyone will find something that makes them chuckle or down and out laugh out loud! 🙂

    http://wp.me/p1ilhc-fN

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      hahaha, ive seen this before. some of them are absolutely brilliant. i have learnt from experience that the iphone corrects ‘love’ to lube’ if you hit the be instead of v. yep, thats been awkward 🙂

  7. thf2 March 22, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    I totally lubed this post! I’ve beans using my iPod Touch a lot, getting beady for my joke up through California, Oregon and Washington, and it’s changed so manly words on me! It’s intoxicating!

    Exfoliate my shrubbery, Laura, as usual!

    Whopper toast bisquits,

    Dug

  8. Tony McGurk March 22, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Angry birds & winky pigs??? Ya lost me. I am flat out understanding my standard not too complex Motorola with out all the added complications of something higher up the technology ladder. I can’t believe you found a way to delete the camera from your phone??? 😛

  9. let them eat kate March 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    i was an old lady when i first got my iphone and would dial people by mistake, hit the mute button and have no idea why people couldn’t hear me, and let auto correct make silly texts all the time. but, once i got used to it, i swear i won’t be able to use another phone after this…. the iphone has spoiled me with it’s awesomeness.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

