Flotsam and Jetsam

20 Mar

Flotsam and jetsam – in maritime law, flotsam and jetsam described some sort of wreck. The words have nautical connotations, flotsam meaning wreckage of a ship or its cargo while jetsam means part of a ship that has been purposely cast overboard.

In Disney’s the little mermaid, Flotsam and Jetsam are two green moray eels who are minions to Ursula, the sea witch. They are the first to notice Ariel’s love of the world above the waters, and they scared me as a child.

So however technical, the words flotsam and jetsam always make me think of life’s debris; all the things you meant to do and didn’t get round to, calling your gran, paying the heating bill, trying out a new recipe.

My room is full of flotsam and jetsam. There are clothes I need to take to a charity shop, books I need to return to my sister and DVDs leant that I just need to get around to watching. Around the mirror my mascara is abandoned as I rushed to work this morning, and my clean washing is neatly piled ready for me to hang carefully on hangers.

To me flotsam and jetsam is forgotten stuff that I need to deal with. So this weekend I will have a F&J weekend, and next week this little mermaid will be clutter free!!

23 Responses to “Flotsam and Jetsam”

  1. scorpria March 20, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    Hehehehe…interesting way to look at the forgotten things 😉

  2. Rue March 20, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    You have an eel in you room?! 😛

    • tinkerbelle86 March 20, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      hahahaha. yeah, i wondered why i couldnt shut my wardrobe!

  3. granny1947 March 20, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Let us know how that works out!!!!!

  4. Naomi March 20, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Excellent plan, Tinkerbell – hope you’ll be feeling light as a fairy after the weekend 🙂

  5. Sandi Ormsby March 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Yea! Let’s raise our glasses to being “clutter-free!” Yippee…if only…if only

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  6. Redneckprincess March 20, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    🙂 always feels good to declutter!!

  7. saimi March 20, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I hope after this weekend you won’t be ‘drowning’ anymore and you can finally breathe! It’s good to get out from under the sea….

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 20, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      hehee, im only drowning in clothes i need to sort!!! and its 5pm on sunday and ive been mostly ignoring my f&j all weekend.. should prob get started!!

  8. Katie March 20, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    You are such a great writer! You took something as mundane as “crap” and turned into not only a vocabulary lesson, but also something that inspires me to take care of some of my own f & j this weekend. 😉

  9. Mama's Empty Nest March 20, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Great idea! I have lots of flotsam and jetsam that need taken care of too. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  10. Kristy March 20, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Great words! I love new ways of saying things!

  11. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    I agree with Katie. You should really consider trying to write a book, or a collection of your blogs in a book. Honestly, I think people would love to read it. I know I do.

    Also, might I suggest you insert a copyright notice on one of your sidebars on your home page? Take a look at my site, if you need an example. I am also, when I have time (*I’m* drowning in flotsam and jetsam :P), I am going to install Copyscape, which will let you know if anyone on the internet is using your material…grand idea.

  12. Seena March 20, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    This is an interesting post..

  13. Captain Obvious March 21, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    My house is much the same but with all kinds of guy stuff in place of mascara and mirrors. Sometimes it’s physically hard to wade through the discarded clothing, containers, books and notebooks.

  14. Megan March 21, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    Girl, I think we may be more than music twins! I’ve got f & j strewn all about my place at the moment! In addition to the make-up & clothes I’ve also got all my crafty stuff all throughout my tiny one bedroom abode. Ughhh! It never ends! Once I straighten one thing, the next is cluttered about!

    Hope you dealt with your f & j better than I this weekend! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      i did and i packed! you would be so proud 🙂

  15. This Italian Family March 21, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I have to say, I’m not sure if I ever knew the names of those two eels, haha! Enjoy the decluttering/spring cleaning! 🙂

  16. sidewaysrun March 21, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    http://lifehacker.com/#!5783657/rethink-your-stuff-what-to-splurge-on-what-to-toss

    Do you really need all your junk? Had a mahooosive sit down and really looked at all the F/J I owned, most of it just sat there collection triple layers of dust.
    Getting rid off all! You want one of those swirly lamp things?

    • tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      i dont have masses, just clothes and makeup that needs tidying. i dont have a lava lamp, and no thank you… stop trying to add to my clutter!! 🙂

      • sidewaysrun March 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

        Oh crap yeah thats it, lava lamps! and whaaat? I’m just trying to be unhelpful!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

