Just Put A Jumper On

16 Mar

I always used to wonder as a child why my mother was so insane on monitoring the thermostat and why the house was always cold. I think most people’s mothers are the same. Little fingers used to attempt to fiddle with it when she wasn’t looking, hoping to warm the rooms just a little, enough so you couldn’t see your breathe in the air, but like a psychic just as you reached the dial you would hear the familiar “DONT FIDDLE WITH IT! PUT A JUMPER ON!!!” but a jumper never dealt with your fingers being too cold to operate the remote for the TV. I think this is where my love of tea has stemmed from, not the taste but the warm feeling of the cup between my hands.

But when ex boyfriend and I moved into the cottage, the penny finally dropped. An old Victorian cottage; the rooms were always cold, and any hot air the heating produced floated out of the single glazed windows and up the chimney. Great. We got around the stupendous heating bills by putting masking tape around the windows, getting draft excluders and keeping all the doors shut (“JUST SHUT THE DOOR BEHIND YOU!! ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE!!!”). We also had a dinky little heater which was permanently under my arm as I moved from room to room, taking the heat source with me. Warm baths were a regular occurrence and the bed often had two duvets on. Because otherwise the heating bills were too much, and although we broke even (just) each month, a costly heating bill may have sent us over the edge.

So when I saw this picture it made me laugh and I thought id repost it for all the new loves who have just moved into their first nest or all the mums who are rolling their eyes as their kids whinge its cold. “Just put a jumper on! in my day we didn’t have heating!”

18 Responses to “Just Put A Jumper On”

  1. vixter2010 March 16, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Haha so true, I’m always wanting the heating on and my mum is moaning about the cost. We are sooo lucky to have it though, I can’t imagine how ti was before bbrrrr. Love the pic!

  2. Rachel (tea and chocolate) March 16, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    The house I grew up in had radiant heat, and it took a whole day to warm up or cool down. There were some pretty uncomfortable days! Luckily for my apartment now the heating is included in my rent so we just turn it up as high as we want. Haha, love the cat pic!

  3. prenin March 16, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    When I was a kid dad fitted his own central heating, but we were only allowed to use it when he was home because otherwise we would receive a sound beating for wasting His money.

    When mum left and my brothers escaped to the Army dad charged me £300 per month for the utility bills.

    He fitted a backup timer so that the heating would only come on when he was home and he put locks on the front room, both bedrooms and the loft so I only had access to my boxroom, the bathroom, kitchen and living room.

    Living every day at 10’C was unpleasant, but then he decided he needed more money and demanded all I had or he’d throw me out.

    Vanessa got me out and looked after me until I got my own flat and I’ve been here ever since.

    Dad, with such a large amount of money suddenly unavailable, tried to get me to come back as he was having to do his own cleaning, cooking and laundry which he was finding hard work.

    When I refused there came the first death threat – one of many.

    Today he has a woman his own age to look after his home for him and a three legged dog.

    To this day he insists he can’t understand why the whole family hates him apart from Keith, the youngest, who forgave him because his wife insisted he do it as a Born Again Christian.

    Needless to say dad was also a violent child abuser and when he dies I plan to piss on his grave…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 16, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      Um, I dont know where to start with this. Im sorry that this happened, but at least you are out and safe now, right? sometimes people are rotten to the core, but luckily the majority of people arent, lucky you for having Vanessa to help you out. Glad its better now

      • prenin March 16, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

        Thanks hun! 🙂

        Yes, things ARE better, but dad tried to kill me twice when I was a kid so I have to take his death threats seriously so I am careful when I go out to make sure he doesn’t run me down in his car – believe it or not he’s 73 and a walking puss ball of hate.

        I wrote three poems which you’ll find on my blog – they kind of tell the tale.

        He left me unable to have kids of my own so I looked after 42 and am still close to my God daughter and her family as I looked after Dominic from 8, Rachel from 7, Emily (who I tutored through University) and God daughter Becky from birth.

        He may have denied me kids of my own, but I have a family and I love them to death!!! 🙂

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

  4. Sandi Ormsby March 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I’ve been an office manager and I tell you the WARS on thermostats.

    Once I was a receptionist at a posh law firm, the building management locked the thermostat and gave the keys to the Office Director. The temp was never adjusted. Some people sat right under vents and the Partners of the Law Firm would open the blinds in their office to let sunshine in…meanwhile the sun would heat their office and the air conditioning thermostat would read that temperature and kick on cold air to to cool, thus freezing all the secretaries and workers with desks in the interior of the building that didn’t have windows with sun filtering through…

    These poor people would come to me, the receptionist, and complain we needed to call building maintenance to fix the issue. We were adjusting vents and stuff constantly and everyone was miserable! Finally, the tech says, you need to tell the offices to keep their shades closed…yeah, that went over well with the partners. “What’s the point of having an office, if I can’t enjoy the sunshine?”

    and I followed that abuse up with going into Office Management where now we had issues with the refrigerator and people eating others food! 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  5. mrsbear0309 March 16, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    We lived in Miami so it was never cold, cold growing up. But with no air condition or heating those nights when it dipped down in to the 50s or *gasp* 40s were unbearable. Scalding hot chocolate and being cocooned in layers of blankets were our only options. Our grandparents were terrified to keep the space heaters on over night, lest something ignite. So pretty much we sucked it up during those ice-box years.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      hehee. i cannot sympathise. last time i visited California I was told to bring warm stuff as it was cold; it was positively balmy compared to home. I object to when it goes into minus degrees celcius and i cant bring myself to get out of bed!

  6. Captain Obvious March 16, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Lovit! Lived like that for a while. Now I have wood heat so I let it take care of itself 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 16, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      i used to know someone who had one of those but if the wood was damp it would smoke out the whole room. bit of an issue in England, with all the rain….

  7. Captain Obvious March 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Haha back workin in alaska it got to 52 below zero Farenheit. I dunno what that is celsius but its damn cold. lol.

  8. tinkerbelle86 March 16, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    i want to go to Alaska. Bad.

  9. Bella March 16, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    In my house, I’m the one turning down the heating and everyone else is trying to put it up. So I had to giggle as I read your post. It must be a “mom” thing. I always say, “Keep the darn thing at the same setting cause it’s healthier all around.” A higher setting gives me a headache, and dehydrates my skin, you see. 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 17, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      i cant sleep in a room with a radiator on as my skin gets bad, but i do like to sit in a room where i cant see my own breath!!

  10. Buttercup March 17, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    I have this picture framed and hanging above my thermostat. My parents are the same. My Dad wears a wool cap to bed.

  11. Alison March 17, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Thank you for reminding me of this! I remember my mother saying that over and over to us when we were kids. And I remember leaping from bed on school mornings and racing my sister to the kitchen where we would huddle in front of the little heater at the bottom of the cooker. Great memories. Thank you.

  12. Cities of the Mind March 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Ah yeah, “Put a jacket on!” One of many episodes of youth I will enjoy inflicting on future generations. . . not out of any sort of misplaced desire for revenge or even vindictiveness, mind you. No, purely for purposes of “building character” in our descendants.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      yep. cold fingers? do you not have gloves??!!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

