Remember the Diet….

14 Mar

I’ve been trying really hard to stick to my healthy eating and cutting sugar out of my diet, to prevent the sugar hangover that I get, and my blood sugar levels rocketing out of control. And also, to lose some of my tummy! I’ve been doing well, swapping bread out and snacking on cottage cheese and fruit rather than crisps and biscuits (and my old friend the hula hoop). I got a bit sensitive after being told by a boy that I ate way too much. I don’t think it came out as it was intended, but it still struck me. I eat a lot, but upon reflection he eats like an old lady. Anyway..

The boys in the office are determined to scupper my plans. They keep buying cookies and then offering them about, making me feel bad because “if you don’t eat them they will go stale!!! I couldn’t possibly eat another!!!” etc etc. I politely decline.

So when I went to the toilet the other day, I came back to find half a cookie on my desk. Apparently the thought was that I would have forgotten it wasn’t mine, think I had eaten the first half, and polish it off.

Nice work lads, but you will simply have to try harder!!!

43 Responses to “Remember the Diet….”

  1. Jules March 14, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    ha! The hardest thing for us is when we get chocolate and trying to resist it…!! Oh, and when we get croissants/danishes left over from breakfast meeetings….!!

    xx

  2. vixter2010 March 14, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    My office always has loads of sweets and bits, it’s so hard to resist! Well done for not giving in to them 🙂

  3. thoughtsappear March 14, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Good for you! I guess I should work on cutting out sugar, too. Right now I’m working on cutting out some of the fat.

  4. marikit March 14, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I really am big on the diet as well. I know it’s the hardest thing in the world to do to stick to a diet, but what I do is this: I do write down or report to a friend what I eat per day and once a week, I have a “FREE FOR ALL” day where I eat what I want all, of course, in moderation.

    The worst thing you can do is deprive yourself. Don’t do that. It’s the main cause of failure for diets.

  5. nevernotdreaming March 14, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi, I found your blog through “little miss everything”…it looks great!
    ooh..boys are frustrating…don’t listen to the guy that said you eat too much. I can 100% guarantee you I eat a lot lot more than you 🙂

  6. prenin March 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Awww! Boys can be soooo cruel…

    Just think, when you are slimmer you’ll be able to look back with contempt at these mere mortals and be the Goddess you always knew you were!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  7. melissasmeanderings March 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    It is challenging enough without others trying to tempt one into being “naughty”!

  8. The Good Greatsby March 14, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    It’s way worse for that guy to eat like an old lady than for you to eat too much. You’re off the hook until he gets help.

  9. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Offices are a diet death trap! I eat a ton all day. As long as it’s healthy, go for it! That guy definitely gets made fun of for his lack of eating skills 😉

    Great willpower!!! It will get easier as time goes by. Keep it up!
    xo
    Mindy

  10. Ad March 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    I’m officially trademarking the Old Lady Diet! Expect books and self-help DVDs within a few months. This is going global.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      i’m glad you can identify its you that i’m referring to….

  11. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine March 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Oh man…hate when people try to sabotage my healthy eating!! And it happens a lot… why do people feel the need to do it?!
    Love that picture 🙂

  12. Tomz March 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Ha ha ha Tinkerbelle..I loved this post and liked the picture along with the post. In my workplace, I also am in a same situation. I want to cut my food and snacks, but my colleagues used to offer me some sweets from time to time, etc..

    well u cud have guessed some facts about me and my workstation through the post on Teasing..;)

    thanks fr ur visit..I love ur blog..I hope u wud visit me back again..

  13. emilywynn March 14, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Fun post! Keep up the good work 🙂 It’s definitely a challenge, but you’re proving to have more self-restraint than I do… haha. – Em.

  14. ChickNamedHermia March 14, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Healthy eating makes life a little less fun *dramatic sigh*

  15. nursemyra March 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    sounds like you work with a bunch of tossers 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 March 15, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      haha, not AT ALL. they are some of the nicest people and i much prefer working with boys becuase they say it like it is and dont get all girlie. although the Geordie is definately my best work find!!

  16. Mitchell March 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    So funny that you referenced our trip to the toilet.

    Slenderpops?

  17. This Italian Family March 14, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I had the same thing happen to me! A guyfriend was commenting on how much I eat and he really didn’t intend it to be unkind in anyway… he was just making an observation. But it still kinda took me aback and made me re-examine my eating habits.

    You got this, girl! And such a cute pic!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 15, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      boys dont have a girl emotion filter….. and hey, its ok that i have hollow legs!!

  18. Mitchell March 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    *your trip

    • tinkerbelle86 March 15, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      hahah, i did wonder what you were talking about, i dont remember having a toilet guest 🙂 i talk about the loo an alarming amount i have noticed. need to work on that!

  19. D.A.S. March 15, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    I’ve cut a ton of sugar out of my diet in the past few months. 30 lbs somehow found a home other than my body and I’m looking way better and feeling better. It took almost no exercise to see the lbs drop. Sugar is evil!

  20. Dawn March 15, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    office food is just the hardest to avoid! so tempting! food eaten at work has no calories…right?

    • tinkerbelle86 March 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      yeah sure!! and a chocolate orange is one portion of fruit for the day

  21. Sandi Ormsby March 15, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    The photo reminds me of…”Fish are friends, not food…intervention!” (Shark vegetarian’s in Little Nemo) 🙂

    Thanks for stopping in on my blog the other day! It’s so nice to get a visit from a “hope-to-soon-be-friend!”

    Your co-workers are such pranksters! 🙂 STAY STRONG. Swoop that mess into the wastebucket pronto!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  22. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 15, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    There is ALWAYS donuts and muffins and cookies in my office. I bring my own snacks, it makes it easier to turn down the baked goods. And when I say ‘no thanks, i have a snack’ people don’t seem to ask to many questions.

  23. Kristina March 15, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    trip to the toilet-bahahaha

  24. sophia March 15, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    Pah, guys who eat like grandmas are a complete turn-off!!!

    Weirdly enough, I get pretty proud when a guy tells me I eat like a man. That means I can wrestle him down. 😉

  25. botut March 15, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    I am a major cow and can out eat just about anyone (except those hot dog contest stuffing mouths who stretch their stomachs out). I love me some food….but then again, I also have an affair going on with my elliptical and treadmill. This relationship allows me to shovel it in or else I’d probably look like a cow! Great post.

  26. Pixie March 15, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    LOL!!

    It’s so hard to resist that last cookie or chocolate when one’s dieting!!
    I would also repeat – “Stay Strong”! 🙂

    First visit and I love it already! 😀

  27. Chatterbox March 15, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Cottage cheese is yum and real good for you 😛
    Good luck with your diet 😀
    Love your Avtar pic 😀 😀

  28. photomi7ch March 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I believe that you should eat what you like when you like in moderation, so you keep healthy. add a little exercise and you will have now’t to worry about.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 15, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

      thanks guys!! its not really a diet… im not overweight. its more an avoiding another hospital admittance so eradicating sugar from my life. the sugar is currently winning!

  29. Nadirah Angail March 15, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I totally understand how you feel. Sugar is hard to get out of your life. Ive noticed the less you eat white sugar, the more sensitive you become to the natural sugar in things, so you don’t crave the white sugar as much.

  30. Posky March 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    That cookie plot seems pretty sharp. I would have likely thought, “Well… I must have eaten it. What kind of sick monster would only eat half a cookie and then leave the rest for me to finish it?”

  31. In like Flynn March 15, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Will power! You have excellent will power 🙂

  32. Mitch March 17, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Hang in there! Co-workers are the worst at trying to get one to break a diet…

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

