My Name is Laura. And I am an Alcoholic…..

11 Mar

Well, not quite……

I am British, and therefore I love tea. I don’t think you can be British and not like tea, so I guess this was my fate before I was even a twinkle in my father’s eye.

A blog I read recently informed me that the average English person drinks 3-4 cups of tea per day.

OH GOD.

I probably average ten on a good day, but if it’s a Tuesday or something drastic has happened, I could be making it nearer the twenty mark.

Tea is the common name for the Camellia sinensis plant, and it is prepared by curing the leaves and buds, and adding water (Or in other words, someone does that in the background and we take the bag out and add the hot water from the kettle).

I am a tea addict. I can tell if the milk is fresh or that horrible sachet stuff that you get in room service, and I reckon I could have a good go at guessing what went first in the cup, the milk or the water. And there are so many glorious types of tea! I especially love Twinings apple and pear, or pineapple and grapefruit, all blended with green tea rather than your bog standard builders. You don’t even need to play guess the milk with those!

My name is Laura. And I am an addict.

50 Responses to “My Name is Laura. And I am an Alcoholic…..”

  1. Pepe Silvia March 11, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    This is going to shock you, but I have never had a cup of actual tea. I mean I’ve had Lipton ice tea before but not an actual proper cup of tea.

    I hope we can still be friends though. haha

    • tinkerbelle86 March 11, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      next time i come to america ill post you the ingredients, and you can do it yourself

  2. realanonymousgirl2011 March 11, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    We have something in common…sort of. I am a coffee addict. Although I don’t think I could drink 10 cups. Maybe I should switch to tea, more than 2 cups of Starbucks gets expensive. Its so funny, I just blogged about it this morning. I wonder if you have Teavana over there. Amazing loose leaf tea that they sell by the ounce….kinda sounds like a dealer.

  3. vixter2010 March 11, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Hi Laura 🙂 I can beat you, my first word was tea, I wanted it in my bottle lol! I’m not as bad now, I usually only have one in the morning and drink water the rest of the time but it def is an English epidemic 🙂

    • Silky Sienna March 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

      Oh, Vixter, not JUST an English epidemic! I am of French/Irish/English/German descent, and grew up with tea; mind you, just black or orange pekoe. There was a point, nigh ten years ago, when working on crafts for shows, where I imbibed nearly 6 or 7 a day, with cream, and thought that was too much! Today, I have no caffeine at all (okay, maybe just chocolate!), if I can help it, and my tea intake is limited to mostly the herbs I grow in my garden, hashed up and split with star anise, cinnamon stix, camamille, mint leaves,etc. And might I say, no cream intended, this is as good as any store-bought tea, and I do not miss the stressed-out-buzz of caffiene? Although, admittedly, my ADHD has gotten much worse without daily stimulants!!! ( i am blogging here on wordpress about my desperation to attend to daily tasks…quite pathetic- http://www.myaddproject.wordpress.com) I love this post. I totally understand tea addiction. And yet, I have somehow overcome it.
      Now, the alcohol…that is another story!

  4. Jules March 11, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    I love tea, but I only have 1 cup a day, I can’t have it in the morning because I vomit (true!) however I can have one or two cups in the evening!

    I’m not a lover of PG Tips or tetley, though. Has to be Thompsons Punjana for me! 🙂

    xx

    • Jules March 11, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      oh and I forgot: I also like earl grey, too!!

      • tinkerbelle86 March 11, 2011 at 9:17 am #

        jules i love earl grey!! i even like it without milk (shocker) ive actually had to cut back as i have a bit of a dairy intolerance, its normally fine in tea but on a stressful day the amount im consuming is not good! i love a good tetley 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 11, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      WOAH…. it makes you sick?

      • Jules March 11, 2011 at 10:44 am #

        yeah, if I have tea in the morning! I can’t have too much milk in my diet so have to have it nearly black!

        And yes black earl grey tea is lush! That reminds me, I need to get some today…!

        xx

      • Silky Sienna March 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

        Oh, well…sorry. I’ve got to weigh in with a comment again…I am gluten and dairy intolerant. Most people who have this sensitivity do not know it, but feel sick, bloated, or get IBS, sickly rambling stomach aches and pains and acidic burning. The doctors may give you a skin test, which almost never shows positive results for an allergy. A blood test, which they consider perfect, also fails to show the problem. You need a pricey test called the AlCat 7, which insurance may not cover. Otherwise, another way to check is, withdraw from ALL dairy product for a month, even traces of dairy, milk and whey in all labeled ingredients. Completely purify your system. Then, after 30 days, have some cream or milk. A slice of pizza with extra cheese. If you feel sick, with stabbing gut pains and indigestion, maybe bloating and ear infections, you ARE dairy intolerant!

  5. barb19 March 11, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I love a nice cup of tea too (I am British born so perhaps that’s why)!
    My fav is Tetley – it makes a great cuppa! Up until a few years ago we couldn’t get that brand here in Australia so we had to use another one (cuz I gotta have my cup of tea). When Tetley finally came here, we couldn’t get enough of it! Nothing satisfies me like a Tetley tea bag!

  6. earlybird March 11, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Warning: never ask for tea in a French café – you generally get a teabag and a teapot of water from the coffee machine (ie not boiling) Even in their homes they have no concept of adding BOILING water. The kettle boils whilst they sort out which bag to give you and then, some time later, they pour on the water. aggghh!

    Safer and nicer to drink it at home.

    • vixter2010 March 11, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Ooh good advice, I’m off to Paris soon – no tea for me then!

      • tinkerbelle86 March 11, 2011 at 11:01 am #

        jealous!! a couple of my friends are off there soon, im going to portugal 2 weeks today instead, where the tea also sucks. might just have to convert to wine.

  7. thf2 March 11, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    This was a totally fun post to read! 🙂 I love Earl GRey, and I have become more into tea in the last few years. I like southern style sweet tea…and I’ll be taking tea with me on my hike, to enjoy at the end of a day! Laura…I hope you never have to be “cured”…. 🙂

    Dug
    http://thf2.wordpress.com

    • tinkerbelle86 March 11, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      are you in america? my family live in california, i take my own tea bags. and the milk is strange! i cant get my head around the different types…

      • jelzmar March 11, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

        What type of milk do you drink in England?

        I used to drink a lot of coffee when I was younger, but since I breastfeed I can’t drink caffeine right now. It makes it hard for him to sleep. I do have some decaffeinated tea in the cupboard. (Though I know that it is not real tea. There is no such thing as decaffeinated real tea. Its something else with tea flavoring.)

  8. egills March 11, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    I know many people who would drink you under the table with their tea intake… I can’t drink that much of it though as I’m not that keen on black tea and I can only drink a really small amount of milk so am reduced to 1 or 2 cups a day. However… take my coffee away and I turn feral 😀

  9. LisaF March 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    I love Chai tea. Even more so with a bit of whipped cream to top it off. My fetish is green tea with honey. Every morning, summer or winter. Thanks for stopping my by Battery Recharge post and leaving a comment. I hope you find the perfect tropical getaway!

  10. writerwoman61 March 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m a tea nut too, although I don’t come close to your consumption level…I’d spend all day in the bathroom if I did! Funny that you mentioned drinking more on Tuesdays…if I’m going to have a bad day, it seems that it always happens on a Tuesday! http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/tuesdays-twinkies-teflon-and-tv-dinners/

    Wendy

  11. prenin March 11, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Yeah I drink tea too, but I also drink the occasional coffee, fruit tea, horlicks, choccy and even fruit juice.

    What I have in my cup next to me?

    Yup: Tea.

  12. textisle March 11, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    love the photo! although I drink more tea now in Canada than when I was growing up in England!

  13. Asta Burrows March 11, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I thought everybody in England drinks a lot of tea. My husband is English and he is always saying “fancy a cup”? All the time… And it has to be a certain type of tea, with just the right amount of milk 🙂 Great post!

  14. comfortablydomestic March 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I have a tea addiction, as well. I keep trying to break the habit, but the only thing that seems to change is my favorite flavor. Right now, it is all chai, all the time.

  15. Nicole March 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I’m guessing that’s not a photo of you?

  16. Amanda March 12, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    I’m not British, but I do love tea, and in the winter time especially, I drink a ridiculous amount. In fact, I’ve got a whole shelf in my pantry dedicated to my tea addiction! I think I’ll go make a cup right now, that sounds wonderful! 🙂

  17. Jishushika March 12, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Nice to know that there’s a support group for tea addicts like myself. Mum was raised in Jamaica, where tea is bigger than coffee. Although I’m an American by birth, I was taught to appreciate both tea and coffee and the tea-time associated with it.

    We’ve passed that appreciation to our friends. Last Christmas, instead of trading gifts, we gathered all our long-lost friends for a tea party, complete with various types of tea and cookies (Mum still calls them biscuits).

    Speaking of types, Mum introduced me to Chai tea (my fav), but now even the smell of it makes her nauseous. Every heard of that happening?

    • tinkerbelle86 March 13, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      i love chai tea. but im more an earl grey girl. thanks, i do seem to have created a bit of a focus group here havent i?!

  18. Butterfly Jewel March 12, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I love tea, too. You definitely have me beat on the consumption of it though, 10-20 cups a day, for real. If I just get 1 a day that’s cool. Lately, it’s been less, though.

    There are so many different teas and many with some huge benefits and healing/health properties. While in Korea, I had some lavender tea which was so wonderful! I love trying new teas. Right now, I have a wonderful peach flavored tea.

    Enjoyed your post:-)

  19. anne March 12, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    As an American, I am, of course, a coffee-addict. I can’t even imagine dragging out of bed until I hear the sweet “beep-beep-beep” which tells me the coffee is done brewing! With half&half, always. And I drink far too much – 6 cups, maybe? I do also love tea, and tend to drink at least 2 cups in the evening (it sits easier with my reflux at night than coffee does…) and tea, with milk; I prefer nonfat, not sure why. We used to own an espresso bar and served loose-leaf tea; haven’t found any as good since. Speaking of espresso, a day isn’t a good day unless I’ve had a mocha! Sigh. Don’t get that nearly enough these days….
    So, what is different about English milk? We drink organic at my house, tastes much better….

    • tinkerbelle86 March 13, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      my family go out to starbucks every day. its insane how much americans love their coffee!!

  20. Missey Twisted March 12, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Since I’ve been laying off the coffee..been drinking more rasberry tea. Will get some more green tea. But I’m originally from the Southern United States, so I prefer my tea on ice and sweetened.

  21. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine March 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I too love tea! I could drink it by the gallon 🙂 My idea of tea would probably be an abomination to you though! No milk for me, and I never let it steep for long enough because I’m impatient!

  22. Sharp March 13, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Hello Laura, I’m an addict as well. My closet is literally filled with different types of green tea. Whenever I get the chance I drink a cup (bowl actually o_O)…

    Better than alcohol..no? 😉

  23. carolinabenoit March 13, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I am worst… I am Carolina and I am a coffee-holic…. I am Colombian so I have been drinking black coffee (no milk, no sugar) since I was about 4 years old. By now, I drink coffee even before going to bed!!! And I love it.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      ok you win, you must be like a hyperactive puppy!

  24. randomfoxygirl March 13, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I, ANNA MAY FOX, AM BRITISH AND I DON’T LIKE TEA
    Does that make me weird? :/

  25. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide March 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    OK, I this isn’t remotely the same thing, but in America southerners are fascinated with their sweet tea. My wife will send tea back at restaurants (politely) if she thinks it’s been sitting too long.

  26. Michi March 13, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Yes! One of my friends here always INSISTS on tea before we discuss anything important. Must be British thing 😉 I like it!!!!

  27. sparksinshadow March 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    My name is Ré and I am also a tea-oholic! Organic always, straight, no chaser. Earl Grey, Cucumber Honeydew White, Cherry Green… Sorry, off to brew more tea!

  28. gordstevens69 March 14, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    I drink tea almost every day, hot tea or iced depending on weather mostly.

    I am American but started the habit in . . . yeah, England, during college days

  29. Single Malt Monkey March 14, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Me too, but I’ve taken my tea black for years. My faves are Orange Oolong and good ol’ Earl Grey. 🙂

  30. RunningOnRainbows March 15, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    Oh my god you are like me! Lol!
    I love tea so much too.
    Vanilla chai is my absolute favorite though. With sweet cream-holy goodness! And the smell….
    I think I’m going to go make some now.

  31. simplyshaka March 15, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    Hey lady, thanks for stopping by my blog!!

    I am just starting to get into tea but I’m more of a coffee gal when it comes to hot beverages. I asked one of the guys at work if he would fancy a cup of a tea when I was making some and he declined and gave me this whole speech on how all British people don’t like the tea, oh well. 🙂

  32. D A W S A R T March 15, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    All I drink is green tea with a little milk in it, sometimes over a gallon a day, fear not! you are not alone!

  33. themichaellamcollection March 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I drink both coffee and tea, grew up with a grandmother who always had the “afternoon tea” as part of our schedule, every other cup of hot beverage during the day was coffee 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

