Saturday Nights Alright (For Fighting)

9 Mar

And I love kick boxing. It’s a lot of fun. It gives you a lot of confidence when you can kick somebody in the head.
Alicia Keys
So this week I decided to embrace another class at the gym, mainly because I had nothing to do and it sounded fun. Emma and I headed off to boxercise, and it was interesting.

It began with us gingerly practising the steps and punches (with me constantly getting hollered at to not be shy. I’m not shy. I just felt like a plum!) I guess it didn’t help that I am often found in the gym and have developed a bit of banter with the guy leading the class, hence the shouts of “put some welly in it!” and “stop being such a girl!” err hello, I am one!

Then we got into the punching. One of us had to wear the gloves (rocky style) while the other one had to hold the blocking pads. This is where injury occurred. I was laughing at Emma’s lack of coping with a simple three punch routine, and stopped paying attention. She punched, the pad came flying back and cracked me in the face. Cue loads more girly giggling, and us falling all over the place trying to gain some composure.

Until this point it was sweaty business, but nothing we couldn’t cope with ( we are of course lean, mean, gym machines!). The gloves did get all sweaty inside which led me to crinkle up my nose and protest to putting them on (they were smelly!!) but we were OK. Until he made us do some ‘training’, which was frankly just an ancient torture ritual. You had to sprint to your partner, do a minute of punching, sprint back to your station and then drop and do a press up.  This is where the whole class started to unravel for me. I whispered to Em “I can’t do press-ups dude” to which she replied “we have to do a press up? God I really need to start listening to more than the start and end of sentences” (LOL!)

So we ran, we dropped, and I attempted a press up. I got down, and then as I started to come back up, I fell flat on my face. I don’t mean this in a metaphorical sense; my gums made actual contact with the floor (eww, not thinking about the germ contamination right now, needless to say I went home and mouthwashed profusely!!) I’m a smooth operator. The whole class laughed. I don’t really have an embarrassment button so I didn’t care, although I made a mental note to exact retribution….

This continued for five minutes, until Emma had to do it.

All the way through the class we muttered to each other about how we were lovers, not fighters, how the class “wasn’t for us”, and what we needed in the supermarket. Despite this, at the end of the class we decided we might go back next week. After all, when else is it socially acceptable to punch each other about the heads?!

(Please note! I do not look like the above pic when i am at the gym. i dont wear makeup. if i do i look more like this)
But far more sweaty and a little less teary (depending on the class!!)
L xx
15 Responses to “Saturday Nights Alright (For Fighting)”

  1. prenin March 9, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Keep it up sweetheart!!!

    At College one of my class, a beautiful and classic blonde, was ahead of us as we walked to the bus station via the underpass.

    When we caught up with her there were four suede heads occupying the floor in various states of injury.

    Apparently they attacked her and tried to sexually assault her.

    Unfortunately for them they picked on a Black Belt Third Dan Karate expert!

    We left before the Police arrived, but rumour at college was that four poor white lads were attacked by a gang of blacks armed with baseball bats.

    Figures huh???

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. bandsmoke March 9, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Great post – what a way to work out your frustrations! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  3. whatsaysyou March 9, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Cool as.

  4. egills March 9, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I am rather proud that I can do 1 press-up.. only 1 mind after that I end up eating the floor. I do try very hard not to do it very often though ( it’s kept in reserve for the rare time I’m called to play the ‘hand walking on bottle’ game at the rugby club ).
    As for the gym – er.. um.. I er.. well.. There just aren’t enough hours in the day you know.

  5. mybusinessaddiction March 9, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    My son wants to learn karati. If it’s anything as cool as kick boxing, I’m getting him the nod :). Thanks for stopping by my blog! K

  6. Sister Earth Organics March 9, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Cute post! Keep up the kickboxing! It’s so good for your body and your spirit!

  7. D.A.S. March 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Today I was on an elliptical machine, and when I got off my legs were so wobbly I nearly tipped over. I saved myself at the last second, but I’m surprised more people don’t fall over or collapse when they work out.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 10, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      i have second day pain from body balance on tues (yoga/pilates/tai chi) im walking like John Wayne!

  8. sidewaysrun March 9, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Hang on a ticket…you use the term DUDE?!??! Unreal! Fourth girl I’ve ever heard use that term!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 10, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      is this a bad thing?

      • Chak March 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

        Are cupcakes bad? Is surfing bad? Are penguins bad? Is sticking a metal object in a microwave bad? Are sharks with lazers for eyes bad?!?! Nope! It’s awesome is what!

      • prenin March 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

        Not from where I’m sitting babes!!! 🙂

        God Bless!!!

        Prenin.

  9. Kim March 9, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Ha, I just got my first lesson in Boxing today 😀

    • tinkerbelle86 March 10, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      how did you like it? i felt great after, but ached the next day

  10. J Roycroft March 11, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    I miss my days of competitive kick boxing. I began martial arts training at age 13 and retired in 1999 at age 45. My body took it’s toll after many years of full contact fighting. My little two year old is already showing interest in martial arts. She has one heck of a straight line kick. I have the bruises on my shins to prove it.
    you should receive great rewards if you stay with your programs.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

