You See The Drip Drops Coming?

6 Mar

Me and the rain have a love hate relationship. When the drops are weighty, like tears, I feel that they heal my soul and cleanse my spirit. That type of rain makes me feel like the world is giving me the chance to take an old cloth and wipe the slate clean, ready for the sunshine that it will bring.

But that silly thin rain really annoys me. All it serves to do is get you wet when it isn’t even really there, and make your hair crimp and fuzz, so you end up looking like you have been on a week’s holiday in Barbados ( anyone who has bin will know what I mean by Barbados hair; as soon as you step off the plane your hair goes ‘poouff’ and becomes a fro. It has taken down the most perfect of do’s, believe me!)

I crave to leave England and go somewhere where rain is rare, and people love it when it falls. Maybe ill move to Africa and take part in the rain dance, to summon those heavy drops and reset my heart. Becuase there is nothing worse than opening those curtains on a Monday morning and seeing the familiar little thin drops of rain on the window glass.

The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

14 Responses to “You See The Drip Drops Coming?”

  1. Nicole March 6, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    We had rain like that here yesterday. They weren’t even drops, more like spots. Horrible.

  2. barb19 March 6, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Over here in Australia we don’t get much rain – but when we do, IT RAINS! Know what I mean? Buckets of the stuff! Heavy rain that would clean your soul and cleanse your spirit!
    We are so happy to see it, we go out and dance in the stuff! It means our lawns will become green again and flowers will bloom and farmers heave a sigh of relief because the life-giving water will mean their herds of cattle will survive till the next drought.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 7, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      one of my best friends lives in Brisbane. didnt you recently have enough rain to cover france and germany? i wish i lived there, i bet its nice once in a while!

  3. Jules March 6, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    urgh, I’m not a fan of the rain, makes me bloomin’ miserable! 😦

    xx

  4. prenin March 6, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I love the rain because it washes everything clean and makes the world new!!!

    I agree about drizzle – very boring!!! LOL!!!

    Love and squishy hugs!!!

    Prenin.

  5. Megan March 6, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Rain fell all day yesterday here and now this morning I awoke to snow falling… I am ready for SPRING 🙂 The thing I love most about where I live is the change of seasons…it is amazing and holds promise for the light at the end of the tunnel!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 7, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      my grandparents reported snow in portugal yesterday. really now, where is the sun?

  6. chak March 6, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    At the moment, i dont care what type of rain it is, i want some vitamin D! let there be sunraaaaays! damn british weather, kids want some damn dry pavement to fall on without sliding 3 miles down the road!

  7. This Italian Family March 6, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I’m not a rain person. At all. And it doesn’t rain here near as much as it does in England. A small handful of times I’ve gone out and played in the rain and it has just been fabulous. But most of the time I’m in a rush to be somewhere and am irritated by the rain.

    Also, I’ve never heard that quote, but it’s such a good one!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 7, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      lucky you. im just packing a suitcase and ill be with you shortly!

  8. SWK March 7, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    I am sort of a rain person, but it can get to be a drag if it rains too often.

  9. earlybird March 7, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    You are so right differentiating between different sorts of rain and I agree that ‘thin rain’ is really horrible. I’d much rather have ‘wet rain’.

  10. Heather (Perspective Is Everything) March 7, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    i feel ya sister! i live in seattle and dang-it’s just a constant annoying drizzle.
    it wouldn’t be so bad if there was thunder and lightning or something-a big ole powerful storm like where i used to live. but, no, just the cold drizzle…..
    it does make me appreciate the sun that much more though 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 7, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      i really want to visit Seattle. I might come next time im over with family.. although if it rains im slightly more inclined to stay in California!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

