Hey … Its OK

4 Mar

One day, I woke up and realised I wasn’t a little girl any more, but an adult with responsibilities. And did it make me do anything differently? No it DID NOT! Make me more mature, less amused at silly things and more responsible and I would lose some of the most fun things about me.

So…

It’s OK to…..

Love Disney films. A friend of mine had a particularly bad week last week and so went home on Friday night and made her boyfriend watch the Lion King with her. She fell asleep at the end, he watched the bonus features on the DVD.

Like fluffy things. Yes I am an adult. Yes I can function perfectly well in the world by myself, but yes I do like fluff. Whether it be the massive Eeyore cuddly toy in the Disney Store or the inside of my slippers, I like a bit of softness!

Eat pot noodles if you can’t be bothered to go to the shop. Yes, the pot noodle does have connotations with student life, but if it’s a case of walking to the shop and spending hours deliberating or simply boiling the kettle, every now and again you have to take the low road.

Not take off yesterdays make up. It is however not really OK to then pick it off your eyelashes the next day, as I found the hard way that you just end up losing a whole heap of eyelashes and looking odd.

Finish the whole carton of ice cream. After all, logic dictates that if you eat it all, it is therefore gone and you won’t fall off the diet wagon again.  Its like when a tree falls over in the woods. If no one heard it, did it really happen?

36 Responses to “Hey … Its OK”

  1. Ipodman March 4, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    The Lion King is awesome! ha. Think it’s getting a 3D release sometime this year….

  2. Jules March 4, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    eating a huge tub of ice cream is one of my luxuries. And having a whole bottle of wine to myself…! (however, I’ve recently discovered that my crush also likes the same types of wine I do, so I’m going to have to learn to share…) xx

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      you are definately the bigger person out of us two. i dont share 🙂

      • Jules March 4, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        hehe! at least one of the only huge advantages of being single is not sharing…. roll on 6pm tonight, bottle of rosé here I come!! 😀 x

  3. vixter2010 March 4, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I love Disney and cuddly toys, I even made my first trip to Disneyland Paris only a couple of yrs ago 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      how was it? im headed to disney and universal studios the next time im in california, i figured it HAS to be done!

      • vixter2010 March 4, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

        I loved it, I was like a big kid getting all my photos with Mickey and co and the parade was amazing. You should def go 🙂

  4. prenin March 4, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Aaah! A lady after my own heart!!! 🙂

    I’m 50, but still play computer games, watch kids movies and just generally act the Big Kid!!! 🙂

    No wonder I was so good with little ones!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. Mila Said March 4, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    I’m an adult too, but I love Disney film and play video game on weekend 😀

  6. jeaniel47 March 4, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I LOVE Disney films! The Little Mermaid is one of my favorite. I have Cockerspaniel bedroom slippers and my husband gave me a stuffed animal for Valentine’s Day…. It is OK to be a kid at heart!!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

      yep… little nermaid is a firm fav amongst me and the girls, particularly me and RoCo. i love kiss the girl! ill find a singing lobster one day and reach the surface…..

  7. Reggie March 4, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    You had me in stitches with the analogy of the ice-cream and the falling tree! Giggle…

  8. SWK March 4, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    I don’t know how you found my blog, but thank you so much for the comments! Oh, and disney films are pretty cool.

  9. granny1947 March 4, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Lovely post…we are kindred spirits.
    Don’t tell anyone but I cried in the movie “UP”.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      so did we. i also cried at despicable me too. oops!

  10. Melody In Wonderland March 4, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Great post. I feel the same way 🙂

    btw, thank you for visiting my blog.

    http://melodyinwonderland.wordpress.com/

  11. aunaqui March 4, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    “Finish the whole carton of ice cream. After all, logic dictates that if you eat it all, it is therefore gone and you won’t fall off the diet wagon again.”

    My thoughts exactly.
    I love the way you write! The things you say are very humorous and very relatable. Keep at it!

    Aun Aqui

  12. sidewaysrun March 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2011/03/why-are-easy-decisions-so-hard/

    yes, pot noodles are the better choice…..Science proves it.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      thanks for the link, great article! its true i spent ten mins in the supermarket yesterday deciding on what soup to buy… too much choice breeds indecision!

  13. Ava Aston's Muckery March 4, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I wished everyone shared your desire to stay young – truly the world would be a better place.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      morning Ava! i just dont think its necessary for everyone to be so serious. listened to some more of your music last night – i love it 😀

  14. Nicole March 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I like the tree analogy. I must use that!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      yep, it applies well to cookies and any sort of bacon sandwiches, i find. hehee

  15. Sarah March 4, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Haha, aww, these are all so true. ❤

  16. Liz Hellebuyck March 4, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Mmmmm. Pot Noodles. You must be from the Europe part of the world. We don’t have the luxury of shunning pot noodles in the States.

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      i hail from just outside London… but a lot of my family live in the States. Sorry to say, but your chocolate sucks! 🙂

  17. johnlmalone March 4, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I loved my soft saggy slippers but had to abandon them when my son declared them feral *sigh*

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      you know what, i think feral is ok in some circles. i often tell my mum to ditch things. she ignores me. its a bit of a skit we have going on. who knows, in a few years time feral will be completely on trend!

  18. This Italian Family March 5, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    Such a great list! I especially love Disney and and fluffy things too! 🙂

  19. themichaellamcollection March 5, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Nice list! a whole tub? really? I don’t think I can manage that 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      go on, try it… is amazing what you can do with a little willpower 🙂

  20. beasleymotorsports March 5, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Someone already said it for me, but i have to say I LOL’d at the bit about eating the whole tub of ice cream! So funny how we can justify things to ourself when we really want it :p

  21. Pollyanna March 5, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Great post! I love kids movies and Disney seems to have got a whole lot better lately. Kids movies are so deliciously innocent and free of tedious cynicism and bitterness. I totally agree about the eyelash thing – but god it’s tempting. x

  22. A Regular Teenager March 7, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    i have no idea why there are stereotypes, it just sucks. I’m seventeen and people keep bugging me to grow up, but i’m still stubborn enough not to give in to my age. My heart is still a baby and the baby agrees with everything you say.

  23. A Regular Teenager March 7, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    i have no idea why there are stereotypes, it just sucks. I’m seventeen and people keep bugging me to grow up, but i’m still stubborn enough not to give in to my age. My heart is still a baby and the baby agrees with everything you say.
    http://www.regularteenageworld.wordpress.com

  24. egills March 8, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Do you really feel like an adult? I keep waiting for it to happen, but nope.. I still like cartoons ( Up made me bawl my eyes out ). I still take Piglet to bed…….

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

