Marital Bliss

3 Mar

So the Geordie posted something on my facebook last month and it got me thinking about how society has changed and the demands on the sexes from the turn of this century right back to the turn of the last century.

(And No, the Geordie has not sprung a philosophical side, it was comical.)

So, when I lived with now ex boyfriend, the demands were minimal, and so we existed in a sort of neutral cold war (well we didn’t, and that’s why we split up, but the philosophy was there).

Himself:

  • Pick up his pants off the floor and ensure they make their way to the washing bin.
  • Empty the dishwasher rather than just take the bits out he needed.
  • Remember to turn off the heater in the lounge after Xbox gaming or risk burning the house down.
  • Empty the bins.
  • Empty the cat litter.

Me

  • Do most of the other things.

For a while we lived in harmony. I didn’t actually mind doing most other things, as long as I didn’t have to get bin juice on my slippers or scoop the little devils poop. After a while though the cracks begun to show and I would get cross that he hadn’t thought to just empty the dishwasher, or take the clean washing in off the line when it rained.

I thought that was bad. (it was bad, the daily living of it was essentially what caused the rifts) but I didn’t have a clue!

Exhibit a


To be honest, the husband one is OK. Shut drawers and cupboards after you have opened them, be courteous and polite to wife; fine. Although I think that if any boyfriend of mine inisited on reading their newspaper outloud to me I would have to roll it up and swat them with it. please don’t bother my inner calm with what the sun has to say this weekend, thank you very much!

Exhibit b.

I would be a useless wife in the 1930s. My first point is asks the husbands thoughts before making a purchase. Wow. Probably never would do that. I don’t know how to darn a sock and I often wear nail varnish. Such a harlot!

25 Responses to “Marital Bliss”

  1. Vixter2010 March 3, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Hehe love it, good job we don’t live back then I don’t think I would have been a good wife either lol

    • tinkerbelle86 March 3, 2011 at 9:44 am #

      imagine. i cant stop my nail varnish from chipping, i expect id get a super black mark.. not to mention the cakes and the hoovering 🙂

  2. prenin March 3, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Don’t worry love – we still lurves ya!!! 🙂

    Hugs Hugs and best wishes!!!

    Prenin.

  3. Dave Fisher March 3, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I’d make a great wife according to that :s

    • tinkerbelle86 March 3, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      Dave i think its safe to say geordie has a GREAT wife!!!

  4. Katie March 3, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    What?? I have to go to church but he gets to sleep in on Sundays? I’m noticing a bit of discrepancy in the difficulty levels of husband/wife expectations in the 1930’s… 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 March 3, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      i know. glad we are nearly 100 years later 🙂

  5. Jules March 3, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    great post! I could be a 30s wife (i.e. I go to church on Sundays, I know how to darn a sock) but I always wear nail polish and I can buy whatever I want. hah.

    Julia

    • tinkerbelle86 March 3, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      well youre already ahead of me then.. i wouldnt have the first clue, i cant even manage finding a pair very often!

  6. Redneckprincess March 3, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Oh man…no wonder I only been married once and divorced….hahahahah…

  7. livelaughloveliquor March 3, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    they would have had me beheaded in the 30’s for sure! great blog post!

  8. melissasmeanderings March 3, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    That goodness we’re almost a century past that!

  9. Blond Duck March 3, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    The sad part is I would have been a great wife!

  10. sidewaysrun March 3, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    30’s disobediant wife sounds awesome! Any wife that hates children and wants to plan a mad crazy mischief plan to get back at them is the perfect pick. I must find this elusive disobediant wife!

  11. The Compulsive Writer March 3, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I love your reference to the ’30’s housewife. I wouldn’t have made it.. I still don’t cook (after 10 years) and I expect my hubs to do his own laundry…if I do it, its just a bonus. 🙂

  12. sixthirtythree March 3, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Heck, I wouldn’t have made it down the aisle much less get asked. I would have been a spinster/old maid. But at least I would have had my freedom. he he

    Good post!

  13. Geordie March 3, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Yes, you often come into work with crooked seams in your stockings. Unbelievable. And that red nail polish makes you look like a street walker. Oh for shame!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      tea just came out of my nose. no heimlick (??) but some strange looks …

  14. acleansurface March 4, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    I actually have a sock darner thingy. My grandmother used to darn socks, with this wooden item that looks like a baby rattle, only it is solid wood. It is to put in the heel to hold the curve of the sock while it is being sewn, so it doesn’t come out misshapen. Have I used it? No, but I love owning it.

  15. Elin @andserenitytoo March 4, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Hahaha this is hilarious!:) Really different expectations between the sexes… why didn’t a guy have to be able to carry on an interesting conversation, never go to bed angry or be jolly and gay? Maybe just all men already did that back in the thirties 😉

  16. Mark March 4, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Amazing how times change, but in some ways don’t. Love the bit about dressing for breakfast…

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      yeah… thats something i need to work on! i normally have my breakfast at work so its all good, i dont think my boss would be happy if i came to breakfast at the office in my jimjams!

  17. smilesndreams March 5, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    “Dresses up for breakfast and lets husband sleep on Sundays!” That’s hilarious. Did that chart actually exist in 1930’s?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fan Favorite Friday « Cogito Ergo Blog - March 4, 2011

    […] Marital Bliss […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

