How Many Girls Does it Take To Work A Hoover?

2 Mar

The office is currently experiencing a move; it’s not very far but a move is a move, you need to go through all the rubbish you have accumulated (including the emergency soup, complete with emergency croutons, for a forgotten lunch day) and chuck things out.

So when the internet went down a few weeks ago (we are an internet company, this was tough) we had to find things to do. We packed a few boxes, tidied a few messes, and then pondered. I get bored pretty easily, so after pondering for a minimal amount of time, I decided to vacuum the floor. OK.

Step 1, find the vacuum cleaner. This was pretty easy, since the cleaner left it has remained in the same place, gathering dust. How ironic!

Step 2, plug it in. This caused some confusion, as all the plugs are situated in the floor. I had to consult one of the men to show me how you opened the clever little flap that houses the power, but once in, I was raring to go!

Step 3, turn it on. Right, this is where my minimal technologic knowledge is completely shown up. I fiddled about with various knobs and buttons on this newfangled Dyson. I could turn it on, (easy peasy, big red button) but I couldn’t work out how to disconnect the hose part from the main machine. Geordie rushed to my aid, but she didn’t have a clue either, and at one point she got too close to said hose and managed to suck in her hair. We were, quite frankly, appalling.

The long and the short of it is that we had to get a boy to explain the fine workings of the hoover to us, which was frankly a little on the embarrassing side.

24 Responses to “How Many Girls Does it Take To Work A Hoover?”

  1. sophia March 2, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    This just proves it: we girls have more valuable things to fuss over than technological details! 😉

  2. eof737 March 2, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Oh dear! I had to stifle that laugh over the hair in the vacuum cleaner… how did that happen? I hope you have completed your move so you wont be tortured with these events again.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog… It’s always good to connect with other bloggers. Hope to visit again. 🙂
    Thanks,
    Eliz

    • tinkerbelle86 March 4, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      she basically got too close in my zone and she got vac-ed!

  3. vixter2010 March 2, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Haha bless you!! Next time don’t be so proactive 🙂

  4. Elin @andserenitytoo March 2, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    This hair-sucking thing just proves it – vacuuming is a dangerous activity!:)
    Really like your blog, glad you found me and said hi!

  5. barb19 March 2, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Haha, that was so funny! I guess you learned a few things about the vacuum cleaner – and the electrical supply!

  6. prenin March 2, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Vac to Scvare Von Ya???? 🙂

    Don’t worry hun – as a bachelor I got used to my vacuum cleaner a long time ago and the bugger STILL gets clogged up!!!

    The Dyson sounds good though!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  7. thedailydish March 2, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    It IS embarrassing having to ask men to step in sometimes. I vote next time you go the extra mile – ask him to do the vacuuming too! 😉

  8. Elly Lou March 2, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    And that is why you should never ever vacuum. The world is already filled with quite enough suck.

  9. tknologlvr March 2, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Vacuuming for a lady is sexy!!!

  10. This Italian Family March 2, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Haha! Loved reading this! So funny!

  11. happykidshappymom March 2, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Great post. Loved the line, “We were, quite frankly, appalling.” Your writing is fun and quick, and I could really picture the office scene you described. Took me on a fun journey, and I enjoyed your sense of humor. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Redneckprincess March 2, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    too funny!!!

  13. melissasmeanderings March 2, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    So funny! Thanks for the laugh!

  14. Katie March 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Hahaha good thing “Knows how to work a vacuum” wasn’t on the “merits” side of your 1930’s house wife chores list. 🙂

  15. Nathan Marcello Rotunda March 3, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    i guess a common mistake is leaving the vacuum on while it isn’t moving it. It can burn the motor up really quick and then you have a dirt push and not a vacuum.

  16. Reggie March 4, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Hysterical… I just pictured the scene… I so needed a Friday giggle, thank you for leaving a comment on my blog so that I could come on over to read yours!

  17. earlybird March 4, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Thank goodness I haven’t yet succumbed to the temptation to invest in a Dyson! This made me laugh out loud.

  18. themichaellamcollection March 4, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Funny! very funny! I figure anyone not familiar with equipment that has more than one functional piece (including knobs and hoses) would have somewhat similar problems 🙂

  19. Nicole March 4, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    First the oven, now the hoover! It’s not been your best month for appliances!

    • tinkerbelle86 March 5, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      i know, right?! to be fair, no month is. the office joke is that if anything breaks it means i was near it in the past 24 hours!

  20. sparksinshadow March 6, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    People are constantly telling me to just play around with new programs on the computer in order to learn. When I balk at that, and ask what if I break something, they say, “You can’t break it!” Then when I call them and ask why nothing will move on my computer screen and why can’t I get out of the program, they say, “What on earth did you do to it?”

    I think some machines are just evil.

  21. The Hook March 7, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Don’t worry about what you don’t know. I say, “Don’t mess with imperfection”

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

