Dinner To Die For

22 Feb

If you are looking for a great Sunday lunch in London then look no further than The Hawksmoor in Covent Garden.

I went there last weekend as a Valentine’s Day treat, being promised the greatest roast dinner of my life. “Better than a granddad roast” I asked, and was informed that yes, it was indeed.

Sceptical!

I went along with an open mind and was greeted by a doorway that led into a dark room with a very gentleman’s club feel. We were led down the stairs into a beautiful room that had exposed brick walls and wine racks from floor to ceiling; the dim light giving it an intimate feel and despite the size of it, a very personal feel.

The menu was magical, stopping to explain the history behind the place, the cocktails and the food on offer. They weren’t ordinary cocktails either; just a plethora of interesting sounding thirst quenchers like the perfect lady (Gin shaken with Peach Brandy, Lemon Juice & a dash of Egg White) I perused the menu to see what culinary delights were offered, but of course had to sample the roast dinner as this was serious business.

And it was nothing short of brilliant. The meat was cooked to perfection and it came with quite literally, the world’s best roasties. The gravy was delicious and the roasted bulb of garlic just finished off an exquisite meal.

Being the world’s worst diabetic, my insulin had run out at the Geordies house the night before, so I was sadly unable to sample the puddings. I did steal a quick look at the table next to me and got total pudding envy, so next time im working my way down that list too!

So Adam, well done on picking another amazing restaurant.

http://www.thehawksmoor.co.uk/

8 Responses to “Dinner To Die For”

  1. Nathan Marcello Rotunda February 22, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    From all the stories I’ve heard about English food and how strange some of it can be I am almost afraid of the thought of London food. It’s hard to ruin a roast though, and it does sound good right about now.

    Too bad you couldn’t have the pudding. I have some severe allergies so I kinda know the feeling of having your health dictate what you can and cannot eat.

  2. tinkerbelle86 February 22, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    blasphemy! its great. you just need to hit the right places. american food can be a bit hit and miss, IHOP??? 🙂

  3. Nathan Marcello Rotunda February 22, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    That is different. We have bad food because we are cheep. People want to eat a whole meal, like at IHOP, for $5. You get what you pay for.

    • tinkerbelle86 February 22, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      you should eat in London. You’ll be surprised (well, you wont die) 🙂

      • Nathan Marcello Rotunda February 22, 2011 at 11:27 am #

        I’ll make sure to find someone to be my food guide. I’m sure there is some good food there, but I’m not sure I’ll literally want to die for it haha.

  4. jeaniel47 February 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    sounds amazing and like you are spoiled! You lucky girl!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 22, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      On this one occasion I would say yes, I was spoilt. It was lovely!

  5. fey's diary February 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    I felt starving after reading your entry 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

