The Eternal Time Debate

21 Feb

Why is it that the time we spend doing mundane things passes so slowly, like we are in some sort of slow motion world where time is virtually still, but when we are having fun the hours fly by like jumping from a plane and not pulling the parachute cord.

It’s always Monday. Yeah yeah, I know, sometimes its Tuesday (and we ALL know bad things statistically happen to me on a Tuesday) but it seems to be a Monday morning a lot more than it is a Friday night.

Weeks melt into each other, sneaking past at a snail’s pace until you are slightly surprised it’s the weekend again, but a few weeks ago the week flew past like a rocket being launched at speed into the atmosphere. Why? Because Nerry was off to America on Saturday. No matter how I tried to slow it down, it was suddenly Friday night, and I didn’t want to go to sleep because then I didn’t have to wake up (at half five, adding insult to injury) to take her to the airport and lose my little star to a country that I so wanted to be in, and to people I adore so much (please note, not at this very moment when they are in possession of one little sister!!)

And now it is Monday again. Hi Monday, I would like to say it has been a while, but it honestly feels like it was yesterday.

The mind plays funny tricks, I know this to be true, but if someone could invent a way for the week to nip past at hyper speed, that would be grand.

5 Responses to “The Eternal Time Debate”

  1. tknologlvr February 21, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Time flies when you are having fun and when something regrettable is about to happen, for sure. Sorry to hear you are sad. Sometime today, smile that pretty smile and feel happy, if only for a moment!

  2. Nathan Marcello Rotunda February 21, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    “Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. That is relativity.” -Einstein

    If only we could reverse that and be able to cherish the good times more.

  3. tinkerbelle86 February 21, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    thanks guys, she’ll be home before I know it. I just have a touch of the green eyed monster when im the only one from the family in the UK and they are all in California. Time always goes slow for the one left behind. At least its raining there this week 🙂
    Nathan, thats a gorgeous quote. going to have to sneak that into a blog soon.

  4. Nicole February 21, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I just wish that the weekend would slow down and the week could speed up. I am sure I will be old before I know it!

  5. DumbFunnery February 24, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    “Seconds pass slowly, and years go flying by”

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

