Why You Shouldn’t Trust The Internet

16 Feb

In my job, I have to write articles about insurances. Well, I have to write articles and sneak links back to insurance companies, for SEO purposes. So in researching possibilities for article fodder, I often come across some interesting theories.

When researching home improvement, I recently came across some household tips. One said that if you had something burnt onto the bottom of a pan, you should put some washing up liquid in some water in the pan and then bring it to the boil. Hmmmm…

When I got home from the gym the other night I made myself an omelette in dads antiquated, once-was-non-stick pan. And lo and behold, half of my yummy looking dinner stuck to the bottom, like limpits clinging for dear life to the rocks. Suddenly, the tip pinged into my thoughts, so I gave it a try.

DO NOT DO IT!!! What ensued was basically like Vesuvius all over the kitchen; a white mass of foam spreading across the hob, down the side and onto the floor, a bit like how they would show bacteria growing over a number of years on a David Attenborough programme. (I wonder if he is on the Geordie’s over fifties list?)  I turned my back for a mere second and a weird chemical reaction occurred. The kitchen looked like Widow Twanky’s Laundromat, and the kitten looked really annoyed, her long fluff was matted in with the soap suds and she was bouncing about as if each individual bubble was a mouse to play with.

It reminded me of the time Jason informed me he was sure I could replace the tablet in the dishwasher with a teeny bit of fairy liquid, as it was effectively just the solid option. Didn’t work. When we returned to our shared dwelling, the kitchen looked like the Ghostbusters had visited. Green ooze seeped from all corners of the dishwasher, and when we opened it, we flooded the kitchen.

For future reference, you should never put anything other than factory approved appliances in machines, and never try anything you read on the internet. Please learn from my unfortunate misdemeanours.

4 Responses to “Why You Shouldn’t Trust The Internet”

  1. The Compulsive Writer February 16, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Mt. Vesuvius….. lol!

  2. TS Hendrik February 16, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I know my mom used to just boil water in a pan with a mess, no soap though. Me, I prefer the set it to soak and then forget about it for a day method.

  3. CollectiveDisclosure February 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    You need to be a stand up comedian! I’m always rolling around (not literally) laughing (literally) after reading your posts. Here’s a tip that actually works to clean out a blender. Put a tiny bit of liquid dish soap, a little bit of water, and turn on the blender. If you put the lid on, you won’t have Mt. Vesuvius. As for cleaning the pan, I’m with TS Hendrik. Forget about it in the sink for a day.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

