If Language Be The Fruit Of Love …..

14 Feb

 

Oh, if it be to choosen and call thee mine, love, thou art every day my Valentine!  Thomas Hood

Sweet isn’t it?

No, not really. It’s not bitterness about being single at all, I love how happy some of my friends are with their boyfriends and all the sweet things that they are getting up to today, but Valentine’s Day has always annoyed me. Whether single or a deux, the idea of a card company inventing a day where we should show our significant others how much we love them is contrived and sickening to me. restaurants put prices up and card companies count their blessings as hapless boyfriends flood into the shops, not wanting to disappoint but not really sure what they should be doing. The lads in the office have been discussing this for the past week. “What should I get her?” “She’ll go mad if I don’t bother!”

Love should be something that is known, and not something that is seen one day a year. Call me cynical but I would much rather get a little gift or be taken out for a lovely dinner on another day of the year, when it is a just because surprise, just because I am me and he thought of me, rather than something I know is coming because of the calendar timing.

The gym has jumped on the Valentine band wagon. The guy at the desk is instructing people to write their little messages on a chalk board as they enter. Forced affection!! I do not want to write something whimsical and sweet because I am told to, and I’m not sure how much they would appreciate me writing “I love being single, as it means that I do not have to pick his pants up off the floor.” Come on guys, get a grip! If you loved your boyfriends you would feel bad that for the last week they have been panicking about what to get you and where to take you. Take a tip from Thomas Hood, every day your love should be your valentine.

I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day.  When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon.  Author Unknown

2 Responses to “If Language Be The Fruit Of Love …..”

  1. tknologlvr February 19, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I totally agree. Love doesn’t know just one day and it’s silly to think otherwise. If true, I should only tell my wife I love her once a year with a card and a box of chocolates. Be patient, your love is out there looking for YOU!

  2. sidewaysrun February 24, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Blah blah, I’m late yes, but If I could high five you right now and nod with furious approval.
    I could pretend to be one of those hapless throngs of males milling about cluelessly considering red roses and red cards, alas I was too sickened by it. She never saw it that way. I’m not saying romance is unecessary, I’m just saying confining it to one day and falling for that trick is massivly un-romantico.

    Anyway, went out to take pictures during that day, and my opinion was reinforced like the great wall of china. The clueless looks of males and hopeful looks of females.

    Cynic I be? Damn straight!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

