Stilettos and Sobs

13 Feb

A few weeks ago I went shopping with the girls. I don’t know why i did this; it was the weekend before payday, so I had no money and knew that if I went to town I would be encouraged to buy things that I really didn’t need. But I went.

And so, I fell in love. When searching for a pair of shoes for a friend, I got bored and wandered off, picking up shoes and idly twirling them in my hands, admiring how pretty they were. The heels shone and the glitter twinkled, and then I saw them. The highest pair of heels I have ever cast my eyes on, but the sleekest, most beautiful shoe.

So I tried them on, like Cinderella on her way to the ball. They were pretty, but too high, and slightly painful. Despite this, I was reluctant to remove them from my feel, preferring to walk laps around the shops trying to quantify why I needed them.

I left the shop, had lunch and then I went back and bought them, didn’t I? I can’t actually wear them unless I am going somewhere where I get to sit down all night, but they are sooooo pretty!

2 Responses to “Stilettos and Sobs”

  1. mamanne February 14, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    I have a pair of shoes like that! Not stilettos, but absolutely beautiful high
    wedges, black with silver stitching and beads and lots of glitz… and no padding on the sole whatsoever. I bought them to wear to a wedding and just about died anytime I had to walk…. I was griping to a friend and she said “oh, yeah, sit-down shoes”. Lol, I’d never heard that phrase before!

  2. rantonit March 4, 2011 at 6:07 am #

    :-/ is it weird if I can identify with that?…. If I’ve been there….obviously not with stilletos.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

