If The World Was My Oyster….

12 Feb

We all have ideas and dreams about working for ourselves and quitting our nine to five. But what I want to know is could you really do it? Could you take an idea and shape it into an actual job, craft a thought into a business model and have the planning and forethought to make it a success?

My friend Josephine and I would like to have our own cakery. The idea started when I went to a little cafe in Brighton that offered coleslaws and salads; fresh sandwiches and pastries and homemade soups of the day, at really reasonable prices. It planted a little thought in my head, like a seed being plucked from the breeze and embedded in the earth, and whenever I had five minutes my dream developed.

Jojo is the queen of the cake. I have never eated such delicious pieces  of art as the cakes she crafts; whether a bit slab of lemon drizzle or carrot cake with the topping that tastes like its been whipped from clouds. And my pet Geordie is a whizz on the cupcake production line, making cute little cakes with pretty toppings.

So what stops me from walking out of the office and embarking on my dream? The answer is threefold.

1)      Money. As much as we hate to admit it, it makes the world go round.

2)      Fear. What happens if it crashes and burns, and I have to go back cap in hand and with my tail between my legs?

3)      The fact that there are a plethora of high street brands offering manufactured, plastic tasting sandwiches which people seem to embrace.

If you had all the money in the world, what would you do? Would you start a boutique of gorgeous garments, or become a yoga instructor in Ibiza? The possibilities are endless.

One Response to “If The World Was My Oyster….”

  1. anne February 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    My husband and I once co-owned an espresso bar/cafe. It was huge fun and huge work. It did sort of crash and burn… because the building owner wherein we had the business decided to chop up the space and have 5 tiny businesses in there rather than our 1 big one. So, not our fault but also nothing we could do to save it. Hubby would do it again in a heartbeat, but yeah, it’s those finances holding us back. I don’t know that I’d do that business again, but something smaller that no one else has “the hold” over, like a landlord… It was scary to start in, but even with the crashing, it’s good memories, for the most part!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

