Phobias and Foibles

28 Jan

I’m scared of steps.

Yep, I know, it’s a weird one. It’s not ANY  steps, the steps have to meet certain criteria to scare me, but i think it’s a weird combination of heights and the fear of falling. I don’t like flying, for the same reason, and heights give me a fizzy feeling in my back, so much so that I have to have a little sit down.

‘Normal’ phobias that people have don’t bother me. Give me a snake or a spider and i will be a little freaked out, but nothing serious. I will simply suck it up and handle it. But looking down a big flight of old stone steps and something comes over me. I freeze, and I literally would rather stay on the roof of a freezing old castle than try to come back down. As a child my dad often had to help me back down old flights of stairs, the problem entirely compounded by the crowds also wanting to get to the top of the building to see the grounds. If the stairs happen to be spiral staircases, my panic becomes worse. I fear having to walk on the thin portion and falling.

But weird phobias are quite common; after all, a phobia is an irrational fear. A boy who was on my photography A level course was scared of balloons. There was a revolving door to access the dark room, so that light never ruined your precious shots, and some boys, cruel as they are at that age, filled the door full of balloons, so when he went in on the dark side, he was trapped with the balloons until it revolved to the light. Which I thought was cruel. After all, fill the door full of snakes and I’m sure they wouldn’t find it so funny, right?

I find phobias really interesting. There are some really obscure ones.

Chaetophobia is the fear of hair.

Ephebiphobia is the fear of teenagers. (im sure we have all experienced this at one time or other, the awkward situation of being left talking to a teenager, and not wanting to seem old. I have this all the time with Ben and Sam, despite knowing that I am far cooler than two pubescent boys).

Kynophobia- Fear of rabies. My sister, as a kid had something like this. Dad had told her not to pet the dogs in France as they may have rabies, and all she heard was rabies. She used to make someone give her a piggy back if she saw one, content with one of us getting savaged instead, and even now if she sees a dog on the continent she mutters ‘rabies’ under her breath in a slightly possessed way.

Optophobia- Fear of opening one’s eyes. That would be slightly problematic, no?

If you know of a good one, let me know!!

6 Responses to “Phobias and Foibles”

  1. Granddad January 31, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    How about nepotophobia?
    Good blog.
    Love,
    Granddad XXX

  2. Granddad January 31, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Sorry, I should’nt have been so general. Perhaps neptophobia wuold have been better.
    More love,
    Granddad XXX

  3. tinkerbelle86 January 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    fear of clouds? id be rubbish at that considering how often i like to fly out of the country! what was the first one? xx

    • Granddad February 1, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      Do abit more research! Cf. latin – neptes.
      Love,
      Granddad XXX

      • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

        is it the fear of grandchildren? i have had a look but all sites come back in german!

  4. Granddad February 2, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    nepotes – grandchildren (also grandsons)
    neptes – granddaughters
    Go to Google, select “More” from the “Web” line, then “Translate”

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

