I Simply Have No Idea How To Do This

20 Jan

Sometimes at work I have a moment where I sit at my desk and look at the task in hand and think ‘i simply have no idea how to do this’. Most of the time you can think of a place to start or away around an issue, but there is nothing worse than that sinking feeling you get when you know someone has explained something to the best of their ability, but you still cannot grasp anything past the fact that you have to do it.

I have this issue with excel. I know that there are hundreds of clever little formulas that will, direct quote ‘save you time in the long run’ with all its handy little sums and interesting little tricks. I have sat for hours doing the online training courses, working my way through the additional workbooks in an attempt to become a plethora of knowledge on the subject, and sometimes i feel like there is a glimmer of hope. I may understand something, but come to do it the next day and all memory is gone, like the last little bird to fly the nest. When it comes to numbers and formulae, i simply do not retain any information.

Let me clear this up, I’m not an idiot. I can do simple adding, dividing and I can even get it to tell me how many times I have answered yes in a massive spreadsheet. This isn’t knowledge though, rather I know where to find the formula that someone gave me on my last day, and i simply copy it and change the relevant bits. But play me a song on the radio and i can sing it back to you, word perfect. Why is this? Why does my brain remember useless information like the words to a Bee Gees song, but cannot cope with simple workings on the computer? I cannot understand what’s wrong with my pen and notepad. I might have to do it the old fashioned way, but ill get there in the end,  I just simply have no idea what DIV or DPRODUCT actually mean. Does anyone? I think that most people just wing it.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

