Sleeping to Dream

24 Dec

Dreams are an interesting concept, and your mind has a way of awarding levels to thoughts, thus some becoming actual musings and some becoming dreams. But there are always funny stories about people sleep talking, sleep walking, and just generally being odd.

A lot of my amusing experiences with sleep came when I was with my first love, a person who I grew with and now sadly never see (something that troubles my mind regularly). His affliction was sleep walking, which caused great problems the first summer we were together, when we went to my cousin’s 21st birthday. We all had rented rooms in a pub, and me, him and my sister were to share. She and I had the double bed, and he had the single bed. We had a brilliant night, dancing and singing and imbibing quite a lot of alcohol, and went back to the room to much needed sleep.

In my drunk sleepiness, I heard a noise, like the door of the room opening. I waited for a minute while my brain processed what was happening, and suddenly realised he has left the room. I ran out, worried what was happening, to find him trying to have a wee in the hall. In his sleep. I lovingly directed him to the en suite and shut the door, only to have to listen to him turning the light on and off for a good ten minutes. He then left the bathroom and got into bed with my sister. An argument ensued while I tried to persuade him ever so quietly as not to wake my sister up, that he was in the wrong bed. Trying to persuade him at the best of times was a task, but when asleep he was all the more stubborn! In the morning, no recollection.

When we got home I regaled the story to his brother, who then filled me in with another one where he had tried to wee in the corner cupboard in the kitchen, having taken a wrong turn in the night.

But I am not entirely blameless for sleep activities. His brother often use to remark at the thuds that would come from our room of a night, as I fell out of bed. Not once or twice, but on a regular basis. “Did she fall out of bed again?” was often heard in the morning. “Brilliant.” And my sleep talking became notorious. He woke up one night to me babbling in my sleep, obviously very concerned about something. My party trick seemed to be that I could hold a coherent conversation, while being completely asleep (Luckily I don’t do that anymore!!) I waffled on for a while, and then contentedly said” Goats. .They are just little pigs with hair. Little pigs with hair.” And fell back asleep.

My favourite, however, has to go to Charlotte. Phil woke to find her stroking the wall, and upon asking her what she was doing she said “I’m making a home for the little people”. As you do. She then followed with “go on without me Frodo” and went back to sleep.

Priceless.

3 Responses to “Sleeping to Dream”

  1. charlotte December 24, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Love it, hahahaha. 🙂 Sleep walking and talking is priceless 🙂 xx

  2. tinkerbelle86 March 18, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    hahaha, this one is a gift that keeps giving, Char. “go on without me Frodo!”

  3. An Observant Mind December 12, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    “Just little pigs with hair…” LMAO!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

