Annoying Facebook Groups and Other Nonsense.

26 May

Maybe I’m just grumpy. But maybe, just maybe, I have a valid point with this one. What is it with people inviting you to stupid groups or to play inane games? You regularly see invites for groups called “something, something something, lol, jk, something to contradict previously stated something’. WHO CARES?? I clearly do not want to join a group called “I love horses! Woo! Yay! Lol, jk, I actually hate horses”.

Please, teenyboppers, do not darken my door with your invite to “I want to be a grunge/emo kid. Lol, jk, i can’t think of anything I would rather do less, I’m a raver” I would rather gouge out my own eyeballs with a spoon that take my time to add this, but whats more annoying is i have to waste time actually rejecting your ridiculous efforts, to save myself from the pain of it keep popping up when I log on to see photos of my friends drunken antics. And no, I literally don’t care that you ‘heart’ wispas, kitkats, clangers, or anything remotely insignificant.

The other one is invitations to be a witch / zombie / planet / friends character / kitten eating alien. Again, if you are thinking of inviting me to join this, remember, i am not nice. I won’t add it out of pity for you inviting me, or because i feel embarrassed to say no. No, ignore is my favourite Facebook application.
Likewise, for you budding farmers / growers / vets with your Farmville, fishville, dogville, fleaville, I have a life outside Facebook, so will politely decline your chosen profession in favour of fresh air and conversations with actual people. Ta though, kid!

I ranted this to a colleague the other day, and I have a kindred spirit. Apparently he got shouted at for not attending an event, which he had never heard of. He was met with “well I invited you on Facebook and you didn’t reply” to which he answered, “get a life!!!”

My message is thus: for all you people who live to update their statuses…. there is a whole other world outside. With a sun that isn’t made up of pixels, and friends who aren’t cartoon characters, or 2d. Try it, you may like it!

Id like to thank the gorgeous Jay Vincent for inspiring me on this one, its his dry mutterings that got me ready for a good old rant. On Facebook, incidentally. Fancy that.

8 Responses to “Annoying Facebook Groups and Other Nonsense.”

  1. charlie nitric May 11, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Hi Laura –

    All that facebook non-sense drives me insane and I’m really surprised that people are spending their time playing with animated animals (i.e.) Farmville! I have an older sister who plays this game for hours each day. It’s lunacy! It irritates me to the point that I wrote a funny blog about Mark Zuckerberg, facebook, and Farmville. I wrote it from one really ignorant farmer here in Illinois to the even more ignorant farmers of Farmville, lol. You should read it when you have some free time. It’s quite hilarious.

    The other silly apps on facebook are the Mafia games, all those hearts, and the chain letter things. Why are people wasting their time on things that no one cares about? Oh well. Enjoy your day. 🙂

  2. scrambled7 July 11, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Oh god so true!
    Another thing they started now is event creating.
    They create events for almost every single little thing.
    It’s a saturday, lets create a saturday event.
    It’s my sports day, let’s create an event.
    STOP WITH THE EVENTS.
    And other spam work.

  3. Megan July 11, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    You tell ’em how it is girl!!! The games on facebook annoy me more than anything else, leading me to become a HUGE fan of using the “HIDE” option as well. If I wanted to farm, I’d move somewhere that would allow me to do so rather than play Farmville ( or any of the other “villes” either, I don’t wanna fish, I don’t wanna design clothes) … A virtual “mob” world does not seem very enticing to me either so Mafia Wars is out the door too… I’ll stick with just catching up with friends and conversing with those I know and love thank ya very much!

  4. barb19 July 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Pfft! None of it is reality and yet people spend so much time on these silly games when they could be doing something far more satisfying and rewarding – like talking to real friends who actually know you and care about you. Aren’t they more important? Time is precious, and I would rather spend it with friends than those meaningless games.

  5. jsh0608 July 11, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    I would definitely have to say. I am this person. FB games galore. But I have no life. I have no kids, all my friends and family that love me have their own lives and families and can’t talk on a regular basis. I can talk for a long time. I work during the day (granted at home, but no time for the hubs) I get ‘out’ at 430p. My husband works at night from (3p-11p, he has to leave at 215-230 becaues of the distance to his job.) And since he works at an urgent care clinic he doesn’t really get out at 11. Their clinic door locks at 11, but if there are 20 patients in there they can’t leave till they are all seen. The latest he has been home is like 1230a. So I miss him when he gets home because I have already been alseep since I have to wake up for work at 7a. I still get my work done around the house, I still keep up with my exercising (as much as I don’t want to) but other than that I have nothing else to do and I tell myself constantly I have no life. Oh and we only have one car that he has for the whole night. So I waste my time on FB games and/or watching tv. But sometimes that even gets boring and I start thinking about stuff and that is not always good. :0) Hopefully all that will change once I hear word of school. But I do respect my fellow fbkers. I don’t send them any game request of any kind. So when I see them complain, I am glad to know that wasn’t me who was annoying them.

  6. Sandra Bell Kirchman July 12, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    I nearly lose it when I get all these invites. I don’t like saying no, but I have a “no” reserve, and I know how to use it.

    Explaining over and over again that I simply don’t have time to play those little games, that I am truly busy working with writers, editing, and trying to find time to write my own stuff, doesn’t work. They keep sending them. I sent out a heart-felt appeal to the above effect, hoping FBers would read it and follow it. No dice. Even my second husband keeps sending me invites to Mafia Wars. Ugh!

    I don’t have the nerve to say no to the nice little hearts that people send me, and I do appreciate the sentiment, but I actually wish they wouldn’t, since accepting them takes time too.

    People may think me ungrateful, but have you ever seen a writer whose edited chapter is late coming back to them? They are not happy campers. I may have to take a page from Tink’s book on how to shock people into believing I really am saying no.

  7. truelibertarian September 27, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Hahaha I just wrote my own rant on the newest of the foulest facebook fads. There are new ones every week, and my Care-O-Meter is eternally hovering at a pretty neutral I-don’t-care-if-you’re-stupid-enough-to-do-this-but-don’t-pollute-my-world-with-your-nonsense.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

