The Story Bridge Climb – Channeling My Inner Daredevil. Or Not

20 May

When in Brisbane visiting a friend, I asked her what she would like for her birthday. I was thinking flowers, maybe dinner out, normal birthday things. I had not thought about the fact that she is an Aussie, and therefore outdoorsy, so i should have contemplated that the cinema probably wasn’t going to be the number one choice.

But I was dismayed to hear that her preferred present of choice was the Story Bridge Climb. Yep, she requested that we be dressed up in blue and grey boiler suits, and chained to a metal bridge, the height of a 22 storey building. At this point I feel it necessary to point out that I can’t even look out of a first floor window without having to grab the nearest sturdy object, yet duly booked the tickets for the following week, having the sense to not book it for the heat of the day, and choosing the first slot.

She loved it. You get to see a 360 degree panoramic view of the city, the cars looking like ants below you, and see the boats going up and down the river. You can see Moreton Bay, the Glasshouse Mountains and Mount Coot-tha from the top, settled amongst the skyscrapers of the city. Admittedly, it is fantastic. I would strongly recommend the trip to anyone who doesn’t have a drastic and irrational fear of heights, as understandably, it’s an amazing view.

All I saw, however, was her back.  I concentrated on not looking down, as the bridge is made of grid like steel, so you can see everything going on below you. I couldn’t face looking left or right, so my journey consisted of uncontrollable tourettes, while looking at the boiler suit of my friend in front. The saving grace is you cannot possibly fall off, as the man following me kept saying, as you are strapped not only to the bridge, but in a procession with all the other climbers.

I should have sensed that it would not go well for me when we did the safety talk. They show you a video, and then you climb a two-storey construction inside, so you can practice attaching your safety harness to the bridge. Even that was a bit high for me.

My friend however, would tell the story slightly differently. She would say that the story bridge is the jewel of Brisbane, and that there is nothing more fantastic than embarking on the climb to see the city in all its glory. She would tell you that, when in Brisbane, you must do it, as you will remember it for a lifetime. She may add however, not to go with me. Which is fair enough!!

2 Responses to “The Story Bridge Climb – Channeling My Inner Daredevil. Or Not”

  1. DumbFunnery February 17, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    yikes. i would’ve been crying like a baby for a week after. you must be a good friend to have gutted it out.

  2. goldcoastlocal November 10, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I am 53 now, but in my head am still 25 occasionally 16 though for a little while after my twins were born I think I went to about 80. But miraculously we all survived and now they are 17. So probably 25 is a good age to stay.

    I love your writing its lots of fun and very perceptive.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

